Customer Reviews for New Balance 993 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

New Balance 993 - Men's

The New Balance 993 is a heritage running shoe built for the mild-to-moderate overpronator and provides both a stable and smooth transition. Lightweight and supportive pigskin, synthetic and mesh upper. C-Cap® molded EVA midsole with single density PU post provides cushioning and support. ABZORB DTS® combines ABSORB® foam and ABSORB SBS® to provide optimal cushioning and a smooth transition on heel strike. Lightweight N-durance® rubber outsole adds maximum durability in high wear areas. Wt. 13.6 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.464 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(28 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
26 out of 28(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for New Balance 993 - Men's
Review 1 for New Balance 993 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I had surgery for a torn achillies tendon in 2006. After the surgery, I needed shoes that had good support, so I purchased a pair of New Balance. I currently began jumping on the stairmaster (40 minutes) after weight training, and felt that I needed a new pair of shoes. Since I was content with the New Balance, I decided to stick with the company. After all the reviews, I decided to settle on this shoe, and I have no regrets at all.
I am currently doing two cardio sessions (M-F) per day and these shoes are great. My feet never feel tired or beat up. I've had numerous other running / cross training shoes from different companies and this one, by far, takes the cake.
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Balance 993 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The brand was recommended to me

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from baltimore
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
The brand was recommended to me so I thought i'd try. I have a fairly wide foot nothing abnormal so these appealed 2E.
The sizing is OK but the right hand shoe has a strange bump inside the inner heel area which is off putting when walking. Also the heels were not even, not sure if this is the style or what, but as my shoes ware down on the outside anyway I did not want anything that leans me over in that direction. These do that.
Not impressed will try another make next time. Although I suspect that these may have been the runt of the litter.
I did not return them because I walked in them five times to see if they would break in.
Cons: poor arch support, uncomfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Balance 993 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

American Made

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Glen Rose, TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this shoe because it was Made in America. They're not flashy or the latest trend, but just a good, solid, durable running shoe. So far they have been just what I expected. I wear them mostly for casual and work wear, as I am a forefoot strike runner, and these are not designed for that. You should really market these as "Made in America" because New Balance is the only athletic shoe company that makes shoes in America. That's a big deal to some people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance 993 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not pleased but Normally a great shoe

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from naples,fl
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I have had 3 other pairs of this shoe and it is my favorite training shoe. Unfortunately this pair has something sharp poking the outsides of my toes. It definately doesn't fit as comfortably as my previous three pairs. Perhaps its a defective pair but it just doesn't fit right.
Cons: uncomfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Balance 993 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great shoe

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great pair of shoes. These a top quality in every respect and full comfort from the minute you first wear them. These are made in USA and are much truer to size than some earlier ones I've had which were made in China. New Balance have excelled themselves with this model.
Pros: durable, comfortable, good cushioning, quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Balance 993 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most Comfortable Shoe

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I've bought several pair of New Balances before but the 993 are by far the most comfortable ones. The medium width is perfect for a normal size foot. I found the shoe that I will purchase over and over again.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Balance 993 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bridge VA
I purchased this product for:other family/friend
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
The grey new balance 993 was my first purchase off eastbay and let me say i wasnt satisfied at all.The left pair io the shoe had an awful scuff on the toe box and was really noticeable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Balance 993 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

you get what you pay for

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
These have been the most comfortable and supportive shoes that I have ever purchased. The higher price was well worth the comfort to my plantar fasciitis condition.
Pros: good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, made in usa!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Balance 993 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made!!

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from NC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
Made in the USA. well constructed, very comfortable. I should be purchasing a black pair in the very near future if they go on sale. Accurate to size
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Balance 993 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good support, very comfortable.

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Duluth, MN
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Love these shoes. I am a moderate over-pronator and these shoes offer good support. They are also very comfortable.
Pros: good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New Balance 993 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Shoes were too small.

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bay Area, Ca.
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
The shoes were too small, tight. I'm sending them back. I will order a different pair of shoes.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New Balance 993 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from moose jaw sask
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
My son has trouble finding large enough sizes. Never has any problems on Eastbay.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for New Balance 993 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe for the $$

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Green Bay, WI
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shoes fit well, were reasonably prices and were delivered fast
Pros: good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for New Balance 993 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from mississippi
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Met my expectations as described on website
Pros: comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for New Balance 993 - Men's
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.9 / 5
4.9 / 5
14 out of 14 recommend this product