Customer Reviews for Nike MayFly - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

Nike MayFly - Men's

The Nike Mayfly is a minimalist racing shoe designed for the runner with an efficient running style looking to break their personal bests. Ripstop nylon upper with synthetic toe piece. Phylite™ midsole/outsole combination with rubber pods. This shoe is not designed to pound out the miles. It weighs just 4.8 ounces and lasts only 100 kilometers (62 miles), but that's the quickest 100 kilometers you are likely to run. Wt. 4.8 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.263 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(38 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
32 out of 38(84%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nike MayFly - Men's
Review 1 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite...

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wyoming, Rhode Island
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
User submitted photo
What I prefer to race in....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A five star plus shoe

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Wet PNW
I am ordering another pair. I have had many pairs since introduction. They are well cushioned and last a lot longer than 100K's. They are my chief racing shoe from 5K's to Ultras 12 hours. I purchase two sizes. For races up to half marathon I use 10's without socks. For marathons plus I use a half size larger with a cheap cushioned insert. For extensive chip or rough surfaces I will also wear socks. The other shoe I wear on occasions for extreme surface ultras are the Nike Lunar's. I have a suggestion in that the somewhat large indentations in the sole of the Mayflys will sometimes pick up gravel. It has never impacted me in a race. For the large longitudinal indention in the middle of the sole I fill it up with some shoe goup My daughter has won State Cross Country in them.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the highest quality flats on the market!

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Chesterton, IN
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The Nike Mayfly is one of the highest quality racing flats currently on the market, and it has been for years. It's ripstop upper prevents tearing, strategically placed rubber tabs prevents excessive wear, and all of the materials in the shoe (including the non-removable insole) make for a very light-weight flat. The Mayfly is described as a flat to only last 100k but mine have lasted 300-600k. For an average person I would say that the Mayfly is a great flat to train in if you're trying to convert to training in flats, and a great flat for racing 5k and up on roads, track, or even grass.
The Mayfly is a high quality, versatile flat and in my learned opinion, one of the best on the market.
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable
Cons: smelly
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great racer

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
The shoe is very comfortable and a very good racer. unlike other racers there are no solid parts that band or fold into your foot so they work barefoot as well. i used these for work out shoes only on a track and they held up very well and much past 100km. i ripped mine changing directions during running windsprints. other then that great shoe.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best racing shoes I've worn

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Clarksville, TN
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I wore these shoes for half of a track season and an entire cross country season. I still wear them to practices, but they're just about worn out. They are definitely my first choice for racing flats. The price is great, and the value is better. My PR in the two mile instantly went from a 12 to a 11:40 just from wearing these shoes.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

comfortable,lightweight,breathable

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from sa texas
this racing flat is great,affortable,and is very comfortable. If you are in xc i would highly recomend this racing flat because its lighter than the average distance spike/racing flat. i love the material,its breathable,comfortable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shoe

PostedJune 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
I wore this shoe for my entire track season, and it was amazing. Although when we had to do an agility drill and my foot literally tore out of the shoe. Overall, its great to run in but not to do quick or sharp turns.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for its intended purpose

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
I originally got this shoe because I thought it might be good road races. The shoe preforms well and is responsive, but it just dosnt push you like a flat shoed in the last straight away in 5ks. however, It is advertised as a marathon shoe that last up to 100km. In longer races where the speed is not as nessicary, its flaw becomes less of a factor. The lasting up to the 100km is worst case senario, I have freinds where theirs lasted up to 300miles. the upper is a little unbreathable and hot but I dont find it much a problem. Overall, for longer distances the shoes is amazing, anything 8k and under not recadmended. That is if your running 5min miles. Good for the price, but better exist.
Pros: lightweight, responsive
Cons: not aggresive, upper is hot
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
this shoe is GREAT!! and super lightweight. I use these for training in hills and on Track and never had problems.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these sneakers!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Long Island NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I wear these sneakers to play volleyball! Love them! Very light weight!
Pros: lightweight, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great racing Flat

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
This is a great racing flat, perfect for my summer racing needs.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, durable, comfortable, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Kentucky
I usd this shoe for the past 3 track seasons an it has a been a great shoe, very light weight and great to run anything from the mile to the 5 mile in. Over 5 miles and it starts to hurt the bottom of your foot becuase it is a very light weight low cushoning shoe.
Pros: weight, breathability, comfort
Cons: low cushoning
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from H-town
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Coach B and Pre would be proud of this product. May the Goddess of Victory permanently keep this in stock...maybe with a novelty log book for beginners..im out
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

they are excellent

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from florida
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
My son has been wearing and competing with these in college for years. the people who ripped them? they are ultra light and will decrease ur pr. they are not to wear to the mall. with mayflies u will fly
Pros: lightweight
Cons: non-durable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A sad passing.

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vermont
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
It happens once in a blue moon, the perfect shoe. The last of my size are gone now. They were perfect for me. The fit, the feel. They always lasted longer than the advertised 100K. They were cheap, light and fast.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible quality...

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Durham, NC
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shoes were delivered on a Tuesday and worn the following day. They split the first time they were worn, the left shoe split along the side and my son's best friend ordered the same shoe a day or so after we ordered my son's he wore his yesterday for the first time and the exact same thing happened again to the left shoe and the tear was in the same exact spot. Considering this I am certain this has to be a defect. We would not recommend this shoe nor purchase any other shoe of this type again. Very dissapointed.
Pros: lightweight
Cons: very poor quality
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product is not durable

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Maine
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
My son wore these only four times when he wore a hole in the bottom of the shoe.
Cons: non-durable
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for short races

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NYC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
In a nutshell:
My training indicated I was ready to run a 6:30 mile. I raced in the Mayflys and hit a 6:20 with gas still in the tank. This wasn't due to race day adrenaline or whatever ... I know my body especially when it comes to racing a mile - these shoes bought me 10 seconds. May not sound like much but at my age (53) I'll take 10 seconds where ever I can get them.
Can't speak to the durability, but these are now my shoe of choice for races of 5K and under.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, great for midfoot strike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Waverly, IA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
This is my second pair of Mayflys and I absolutely love them. I use them for track practices and recreational running. They say 100km but my other pair lasted a lot further than that, but when they decide to go out they really go out so it's always a good idea to have a backup pair of running shoes at home.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good support for such a lightweight shoe.

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm not an avid marathoner or long-distance runner but I currently run about 4-5 times a week so I get about 20-25 miles in. I had seen reviews where people got more use than the 100k and I think that I will as well. They provide dynamic support and are so lightweight that it is the perfect shoe to run in.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>