Customer Reviews for Nike MayFly - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

Nike MayFly - Men's

The Nike Mayfly is a minimalist racing shoe designed for the runner with an efficient running style looking to break their personal bests. Ripstop nylon upper with synthetic toe piece. Phylite™ midsole/outsole combination with rubber pods. This shoe is not designed to pound out the miles. It weighs just 4.8 ounces and lasts only 100 kilometers (62 miles), but that's the quickest 100 kilometers you are likely to run. Wt. 4.8 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.263 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(38 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
32 out of 38(84%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nike MayFly - Men's
Review 1 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A sad passing.

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
vtjohn
from Vermont
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
It happens once in a blue moon, the perfect shoe. The last of my size are gone now. They were perfect for me. The fit, the feel. They always lasted longer than the advertised 100K. They were cheap, light and fast.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these sneakers!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
SeanO
from Long Island NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I wear these sneakers to play volleyball! Love them! Very light weight!
Pros: lightweight, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product is not durable

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Penny
from Maine
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
My son wore these only four times when he wore a hole in the bottom of the shoe.
Cons: non-durable
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great racing Flat

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
BNairn93
from Sydney, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
This is a great racing flat, perfect for my summer racing needs.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, durable, comfortable, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite...

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bronson
from Wyoming, Rhode Island
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
User submitted photo
What I prefer to race in....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My son loved them

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Norwalkmom
from Norwalk Ohio
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
super light! Great price. Cool look.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bulkhead
from Geneva, OHIO
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Light and fast!!!! A true race shoe that nobody else can come close to.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THESE SNEAKERS! EXCELLENT!!! On my 2nd pair!

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
AnaNY
from New York
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
These are one of my favorite sneakers to workout in and take long walks in. Very comfortable.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Swooshalistic
from H-town
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Coach B and Pre would be proud of this product. May the Goddess of Victory permanently keep this in stock...maybe with a novelty log book for beginners..im out
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
eastbayfan4life
from Taylorville, Illinois
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Excellent shoes and sharp looking too!
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
happyrunnerwithdogs
from Wenatchee, WA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I love these shoes! I pulled my hamstring sbout 2 years ago and have had litte to no pain when running in the MayFlys. :)
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
Cons: non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gets the job done

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buffneck
from North carolina
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
i have had these shoes for 2 years now and they have got me numerous gold medals in the distance division but it's time to retire them. Not real durable though
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
Cons: non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for short races

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
MMCCII
from NYC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
In a nutshell:
My training indicated I was ready to run a 6:30 mile. I raced in the Mayflys and hit a 6:20 with gas still in the tank. This wasn't due to race day adrenaline or whatever ... I know my body especially when it comes to racing a mile - these shoes bought me 10 seconds. May not sound like much but at my age (53) I'll take 10 seconds where ever I can get them.
Can't speak to the durability, but these are now my shoe of choice for races of 5K and under.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, great for midfoot strike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a light little thing that will move you.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
bebop22
from New York, NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
A very light shoe with not much substance. It'll do for speed work. I think the uppers need to be reinforced; they are very flimsy. I am going to see how they do on a long race.
Pros: lightweight, breathable
Cons: non-durable, upper material not very strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love the shoes

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Frogspit
We love the shoes love love love love love
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Shoes

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kaleo
from Hawaii
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Nice shoe, very light weight. We will see how long it lasts. They say up to 100 kilometers. I have to wait and see. but, for the price not bad....I'm happy
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
Cons: might fall apart or rip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good support for such a lightweight shoe.

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
jobberwocky
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm not an avid marathoner or long-distance runner but I currently run about 4-5 times a week so I get about 20-25 miles in. I had seen reviews where people got more use than the 100k and I think that I will as well. They provide dynamic support and are so lightweight that it is the perfect shoe to run in.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best racing shoes I've worn

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
AndyCHS
from Clarksville, TN
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I wore these shoes for half of a track season and an entire cross country season. I still wear them to practices, but they're just about worn out. They are definitely my first choice for racing flats. The price is great, and the value is better. My PR in the two mile instantly went from a 12 to a 11:40 just from wearing these shoes.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

they are excellent

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
ffejtable
from florida
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
My son has been wearing and competing with these in college for years. the people who ripped them? they are ultra light and will decrease ur pr. they are not to wear to the mall. with mayflies u will fly
Pros: lightweight
Cons: non-durable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike MayFly - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible quality...

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deet
from Durham, NC
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shoes were delivered on a Tuesday and worn the following day. They split the first time they were worn, the left shoe split along the side and my son's best friend ordered the same shoe a day or so after we ordered my son's he wore his yesterday for the first time and the exact same thing happened again to the left shoe and the tear was in the same exact spot. Considering this I am certain this has to be a defect. We would not recommend this shoe nor purchase any other shoe of this type again. Very dissapointed.
Pros: lightweight
Cons: very poor quality
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>