Customer Reviews for New Balance 587 - Men's

New Balance 587 - Men's

A highly stable trainer made for the heavy runner and severe over-pronator who quickly breaks down the midsole and needs a firm shoe. Synthetic/mesh upper provides lightweight comfort and support. C-Cap® midsole with ABZORB® in heel and forefoot adds maximum shock absorption, a graphite Rollbar(TM) and TPU medial and lateral post offer pronation and supination control. The solid rubber outsole delivers long-wearing durability. Weight 15.0 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.241 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(29 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
26 out of 29(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for New Balance 587 - Men's
Review 1 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I think these shoes are actually good for you.

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brookhaven, MS
I think these shoes are actually good for you. They make my feet feel good and that is great thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

reliable

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from linden nj
most comfortable shoe on the market
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thanks

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from BEAVERTON, OR
Thanks to your company for keeping this model going and also for the great service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

New Balance 587's - very stable & comfortable too.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
New Balance 587's are ideal for anyone needing a stable platform and a good degree of comfort. I find the extra wide width to be beneficial as well, especially for doing strenuous walks over long distances (4 to 5 miles or so). It's also nice to have the side reflectors on the shoes, they render the walker easily visible to cars etc. at night. A great shoe all the way around - I'd recommend them to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Choice

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lancaster, Texas
I've had a couple of pairs of these shoes in the past. I had problem feet and these were suggested by my doctor because they came in my size and were "motion control". They've really helped. Now I think I'm addicted to them. Nothing else seems to fit my needs as well as these. Also, they're very durable and last me a long time.
This was my first purchase from Eastbay and somehow I had ordered a small size. I don't know what I was thinking. When they came I tossed away the box and receipt, thinking I knew what I was doing. oops. To small.
Eastbay didn't blink. Took care of everything and I now have the right shoe and a good fit. I'm sold.
Thank you Eastbay.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made in the USA

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I purchased this because this particular style is one of two that my husband liked that were made in the USA. The other one has since been discontinued. I like purchasing from Eastbay because they always have his size and width in this style, which are difficult to find, at a good price and the shipping is always very prompt and a reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable. Nice look.

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Apple Valley, MN
I have arthritis in both feet and plantar fascitis in one. This is an unusually comfortable shoe that allows me to walk my dog with a minimum amount of pain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great all around active shoe

PostedApril 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CT
I've been buying this New Balance model 587 for several years and the shoe is great for all around activity. This model can be worn for hours at a time without any discomfort. Good for walking, hiking and the gym. I have an older beat up pair to work outside with and a better looking pair for gym and gatherings. Good stability on the ellliptical and when jogging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed. . .

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from california
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
6 / 5
6 / 5
I have flat feet. When I walk barefoot I mildly to moderately overpronate. When I where shoes, especially running shoes, I tend to underpronate. I bought these shoes based on a recommendation that they were good for flat feet and pronation problems, and I found them to be anything but good. I found the foot bed to be uncomfortable, the shoe caused my feet to lean to the lateral side just standing still. The arch area/medial side of the shoe appears to be thicker/taller than the lateral side which I find to be common among running shoes. I also find it to be a very undesirable trait in a shoe. Even with out the problems I listed I still wouldn't care for the shoe. I felt the uppers, mainly in the toe area, were lacking. And, the soles were very very stiff. I'm sending them back.
Cons: uncomfortable, poor cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Holtville, CA
This is my second time purchasing this particular shoe and I couldn't be happier. I wore the others down till the just couldn't go any longer. Hands down the best shoe out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shoe!!!

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Washington, DC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I purchased this shoe five years ago to aid in my running, not knowing that New Balance was to discontinue the shoe. This is a wonderful running shoe. It has it all, style, function and durability. I over pronate and this shoe addresses this issue with no problem at all. The only thing to be aware of is that this shoe should be ordered a half size smaller than your normal shoe size, trust me they will fit perfect.
Pros: good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: runs small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fit well for a wide front & narrow heel type foot

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Downriver, Michigan
This shoe fit great for a New Balance SL-2 Last shoe. Size 12 4E. Plenty of front foot toe room so feet are not squeezed, but not too loose.
Narrow enough in the heel to fit securely and not flop around.
Decent arch support.
This one of the better fitting NB shoes for MY foot size, 12 4E.
Exceeded Expectations!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

he loved it....

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, md
Gave as a birthday gift and he really loved them. Ilove the fact they was delivered the day they said it was going to be delivered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I have worn the New Balance 587 for over 25 years. For any person who runs or walks (5'10 - 190) it is excellent. It holds up and gives great cushion. The price is also good for what I get from the shoe. It was recommend by a very good running store here in St. Louis. They were very accurate in there evaluation for wear from a runner my size.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe and fast Service

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Eastern VA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
The New Balance has always been a favorite of mine and the shipping was great! Keep up the good work!
Pros: good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great heavy duty workout shoes

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
I've worn same model New Balance shoes for almost 30 years. The provide great support and fit.
Pros: good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Brunswick, NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
True to size, EXTREMELY comfortable.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No frills, functional shoe for heavy runners

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Perth, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a utilitarian shoe without bells or whistles. While you will not be making a fashion statement in your 587s, they will offer support for heavy runners like me who over pronate and need bags of support from their shoes.
Pros: good arch support, durable, good cushioning
Cons: basic shoe
 
My product recommendations
Brooks Beast - Men's
4.8 out of 5(33)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very comfortable and supports my arches.

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
These shoes are comfortable and flexible because of the mesh on the top. The heel has good support.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for New Balance 587 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fit's well

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Live from the 718
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Fit's well but a little hard on the feet with tthe first wear. Shipping took a bit longer than first stated.
Pros: runs true to size, good arch support, breathable
Cons: poor cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>