Customer Reviews for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

New Balance MX20 Training - Men's

The New Balance MX20 Training shoe features a lightweight synthetic/mesh upper that is durable and breathable. Padded collar and tongue provide added comfort. Molded logo on the side of the shoe. Lower profile offeers a better feel of the ground. Welded seams, a no-sew material application helps reduce weight and prevent chafing. Injection molded EVA midsole. Antimicrobial treatment helps to keep your shoes fresh for every use. Rubber outsole offers durability. Rubber insets give traction. Wt. 6.5 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Review 1 for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great for Crossfit

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Peoria, IL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I bought these to use for crossfit and I think they're great. They really give me a solid platform and feel for the floor when doing squats, deadlifts, snatches, etc. I'm not sure how well they'll do for running especially any long distance, but I think they'll do fine for anything crossfit related.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great CrossFit Shoe

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
New to the CrossFit community and bought these shoes to help give me a "true" feel during the workouts. I really like the minimus technology and how lightweight they are- very good for jump roping and weightlifting. Hopefully they do not wear out too quickly, as I am concerned they are very thin and might not last much longer after a couple long runs on the pavement. But I would likely switch to a pair of running shoes for that. Starting to see a little bit of separation from the rubber and outer fabric near the big toe, so thats why I gave it a 4/5 (only used them for two weeks, strictly in the gym).
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most comfortable shoes I've ever owned

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Canada
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
These shoes are a godsend for me. I wear size 15 and my feet are large, but thin. I usually have to lace my shoes really tight for them to stay on my feet. These just stick to my feet like glue. Don't even need to pull the laces that much, which means I have no pressure on my feet for the first time in ages.
Also, I'm actually a 14.5. Nobody makes 14.5. These run just a little bit small, like 14.75. Perfect fit for me. It's like they were custom-made for my feet. OH! Best part: they look small on your feet. I was afraid they'd look like speed boats, but they look much smaller on my feet than my M993's of the same size. They remind me of rock climbing shoes in that respect.
These are the most comfortable shoes I've ever owned. And I owned Mephistos and Finn Comforts... Those are clogs next to these shoes.
I walk two to three hours a day and train dogs. My lower back is usually sore after an hour or two; not today. They make you walk right. I was afraid the absence of cushioning would hurt a bit or take getting some used to, but it just immediately corrected my stride and posture. Also, no sweat whatsoever. It's like wearing sandals that feel like socks.
I will now wear NB Minimus shoes exclusively. I can't even think of going back to regular sneakers.
However, if you have above average "thick" feet, I'm guessing you probably won't like these very much.
Pros: good traction, high performance, lightweight, comfortable, breathable, no squeaking
Cons: about a quarter size smaller
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from indiana
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Great light weight shoe. Would definitely buy another pair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
These shoes are black, which is hard to tell from the picture. I went from Vibram fivefingers to these thinking they would be better for lifting and crossfit workouts. After wearing the Vibrams for years I have grown accustomed to my athletic shoes fitting my foot perfectly so I had to get used to the larger toe box offered by the New Balance. The geometry of the shoe is a bit strange, it's longer than necessary and very narrow. Overall it is a decent shoe if you are looking for something that is minimal and stylish but I would take Vibrams any day.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, breathable
Cons: runs narrow, runs large
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very light. Excellent for crosstraining/crossfit

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Alabama
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Light shoe that gives you a feel for the floor. This is an excellent shoe for crosstraining as it functions well for shorter runs/sprints as well as weights and kettlebells.
Pros: high performance, lightweight, breathable
Cons: runs small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gym shoe, lightweight & low to the ground.

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Perth, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Bought this shoe because I wanted a more low to the ground feel during weightlifting like squats etc and I got exactly what I was looking for in the MX20's.
They are so light and low to the ground it feels like you have nothing on but it gives the right amount of support you need during general gym use and weight lifting.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for heavier athletes

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Idaho
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I use these mainly for crossfit and ill never use anything else, I previously had the New Balance MT10 and Reebok Crossfit Nano. These shoes are head and shoulders above both! Great stability for lateral movements and general agility especially for larger athletes, (I'm 6'5" 220) They also feel great running short distances! If you're a true 13 go a size up for New Balance!
Pros: lightweight, high performance, durable, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bahrain
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Nice looking, very light, good for weights training not very comfortable for heavy cardio exercise.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
Cons: poor cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shoe

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Really great shoe for general gym use. I haven't really tried running in it yet but so far for weight lifting, especially when it comes to deadlifting and squats, great shoe. Would have given it full marks but have found that it got marked by some funny goey stuff!
Pros: good traction, lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very comfortable great to work out in.

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lowell, Ma
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
These shoes are incredibly comfortable and are great to lift in. Only down side is they seem like they might wear down fast if you wear them outside or use them to run with.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
Cons: non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from United States
I purchased this product for:myself
Not true to size two sizes to small
Cons: runs narrow, runs small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gift

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
I purchased this product for:other family/friend
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I bought these shoes for my fiancé for his birthday and he absolutely loves them. Very light and comfortable. Definitely would recommend!
Pros: good traction, high performance, lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Va. Beach, VA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Great shoe for cross training! Comfortable, very light and durable
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, durable, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for New Balance MX20 Training - Men's
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product