Customer Reviews for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's

The Nike Kobe 8 System basketball shoe is designed to fit like an extension of Kobe’s foot for a quick first step. Engineered mesh upper provides a dynamic, ultra lightweight fit that moves with the foot and offers 360º of breathability. Phylon™ midsole delivers lightweight comfort and stability. Full-length Lunarlon midsole insert adds lightweight cushioning that sits lower internally to offer better stability. One-millimeter rubber outsole combines a classic herringbone pattern with a snake scale-inspired traction pattern. Uses less rubber than traditional outsoles for lightweight durability and excellent multi-surface traction. The 3-D anatomical heel counter provides a sleek, locked down fit. Wt. 9.6 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.791 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(182 Reviews) 182
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 182 reviews
5 stars
160
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
4
176 out of 182(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Review 1 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

VIII... The new VI

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Loved everything about the Zoom Kobe VI, the Kobe 8 System picked up where the VI left off. Fit is similar to the VI though feels a little more spacious in the toe box which is a plus for my wide feet. First time dealing with the Lunarglide insoles but I have zero complaints. I just hope these will be easy to clean. So far the XMas lights colorway is my favorite but I am excited for the releases yet to come. Thanks Nike!
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, breathable, good traction, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shoes ever!

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
User submitted photo
I bought a pair for myself. I was so happy when I first saw them in person. It looks way better than the images on the internet. They are for sure the best pair of kicks I have ever got for basketball. The performance features for this sneaker is flawless.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, durable, breathable, good traction, comfortable, stays clean a long time
Cons: not enough colors
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the best KB model by far!

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Modesto Ca
I purchased this product for:myself
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
User submitted photo
Ive owned a couple earlier models of Kobes and this model by far is the most comfortable shoe. A whole lot better than the 7's. Its so light, almost feels as if you dont have a shoe on at all! the sole is like memory foam, and the material of the shoe where the snakeskin is, is so soft! I wear a size 10 shoe but got these in a 9 cause theres so much more room for your foot!!!. I recommend these 100%
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, durable, good ankle support, breathable, good traction, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
Cons: runs large
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!!!!! I AM AMAZED!!!!!

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First off let me say I am not a Kobe lover!!! I'm more of a Lebron shoe fan myself. These are the best Kobes ever made!!! These do not run narrow!!!! I have wide feet and I went with my normal size and they fit absolutely perfect in length and width. I wasn't even able to wear the Kobe 7 because of fit issues. To me these feel kind of like a mix of Kobe 5 and 6. The lunarlon cushioning in these Kobe 8s feels a little firm at first. To me it almost didn't even feel like lunarlon. It feels more like cushlon to me which is a litter firmer than lunarlon but nowhere near as firm as phylon. After wearing for a little while the cushioning got a little softer which is great. The engineered mesh upper is nothing like a running shoe mesh which I was expecting. It is a firmer mesh backed with Hyperfuse. For those thinking the mesh will rip out I think you're safe.What is also cool about these is that you can order a different system midsoles from Nike. They make a Nike+ sensor insole which is made of phylon and has bottom loaded zoom air in the heel. There is also a super thin phylon insole that is meant to be worn with custom orthotics. It to has bottom loaded zoom air. All in all. I am extremely impressed with these Kobes
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, cool colors, durable, good traction, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this sneaker, my fav hands down

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from miami
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the kobe 8 is the lightest and most comfortable shoe i own. Im so glad i picked it up. Big difference from the kobe 7.. its even better than the kobe 5 and 6 and those were amazing. So light weight its crazy. Just not really made for outdoors really as i can see the soles will lose traction and become smooth around the edges of the bottom.. its too soon to start seeing signs of that and they get dirty pretty fast but easy to clean.. all in all GREAT sneaker and investment.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, cool colors, durable, comfortable
Cons: gets dirty fast
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Return to form...

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After the hiccup that was the Kobe 7, it's good to see Nike pay attention to detail and give us another low, lightweight, performance sneaker the Kobe line is known for. Comparable to the 4, 5 and 6... This years signature model replaced zoom air with lunarlon foam, which does not disappoint. This cushioning evenly displaces weight.
Pros: lightweight, doesn't crease, durable, breathable, good traction, comfortable
Cons: poor ankle support
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kobe Christmas

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Garland, TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
A nice and comfortable shoe. It's like walking on air, the insole massage your foot and the shoe laces are the bomb! Everyone who see the shoe loves the shoe laces. A must have if you are a true Kobe fan! I don't know if you can still get the Chritmas addition? But if you can get this colorway! I would recommend a size bigger.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, durable, good ankle support, breathable, good traction, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's the best basketball shoe I've ever had

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from The George
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I'm going to start off by saying this by far is the best basketball shoe I've ever had. Ankle support for me is not a problem because I have braces so that isn't an ex factor. I picked these up and they were REALLY light. I thought they were lighter than the crazy lights. I fell in the love with the material and the colors. It was better than how the picture perceived. These are not my favorite model of kobe's but they have to be the best shoe I've had for hooping. They are almost like running shoes because of how comfortable they are and how quickly you can move in them. In this, you can even where them to style in. Breathability is never a problem either. This simply is a must cop shoe. BUY IT!!!!
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, durable, breathable, good traction, comfortable, stays clean a long time
Cons: poor ankle support
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best of Kobe Line

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from ATX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I'm a big kobe shoe fan (not exactly a kobe fan) and I love most every model Nike has come out with. Th VII didn't work for me although bc of too much heel slipping and most of the time shoes with cushion inserts do not work for me bc when I cut I can feel my feet fall between the cushion and the side of the shoe. Somehow nike managed to minimize this feeling with the Kobe 8. Traction is great and so is the fit. I had no heel slippage which is why I loved the ZK V as well. Can't wait until the other colorways drop! I went up half a sz since I have pretty wide feet and in general Kobes run .5 size small.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, good ankle support, good traction, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Everyday Play=Great Shoes, but not the best Kobes

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from I Got Next Game
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I play for a few hours everyday. Previously I have worn through 2011 Hyperflight Lowt ops, Reebok John Walls, Adidas Rose 2.5s and Kobe VIs.
I love these shoes, they are great. The ankle support is not as lock down as it was in the Kobe VII, or VIs, but these shoes are much lighter.
The padded tongue combines with the shoe-lace/fly wire integration to create a great fitting shoe. The Foam liner makes for a shoe that's instantly comfortable on the court and provides great cushioning as compared to some of the harder Reebok and Adidas options.
My only issue with these shoes was that the heel portion of the insole was a bit slippery. There is a large Kobe icon where your heel sits on the insole, especially if you wear performance socks (any poly blend) this part of the insole tends to slide around. This breaks in after about 8 hours, but initially I thought the ankle support was failing. Then I realized it was my foot slipping, and I switched to cotton socks. Problem Solved.
Overall I'd say these are the best new shoes of this season, but still not my favorite Kobes to play in. The Kobe VIs had better ankle support, better fit, and comparable cushioning (although they were heavier and had worse traction).
Also, if you wear ankle braces these shoes work really well with them. I'm starting to prefer wearing ankle braces and low tops over high top basketball shoes on the courts.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, good ankle support, breathable, good traction, comfortable, best new shoe of 2012/2013
Cons: runs small, insole can be slippery
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kobe's are the best indoor BBall shoe

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I have been wearing Kobe's since 2009 w/ the Kobe IV's all of them have been low tops (I have not rolled an ankle since) They all have been lightweight with great support but these have gone above and beyond any previous iterations of the brand! These are hands down the best Basketball shoes I have ever played in. I was amazed when I first played in them because there was no break in period! I highly recommend these for indoor play, not sure how they would hold up outside since the upper is so thin and mesh in parts.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, cool colors, runs true to size, breathable, good traction, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Better options out there

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from California
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I have always loved Kobe shoes. I love low tops. I have played basketball for a long time. Never have I had a shoe BRUISE my arch. These shoes are super comfy, great locked in feel, look awesome. But after a 3 game weekend I had bruises on my arches in the same spot both feet. Also wouldn't have been surprised if I tweaked my foot had I kept them. Mid foot support wasn't feeling very supportive. I feel like there are better options out there, just ordered some cp3's.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good traction
Cons: poor ankle support, runs narrow, poor mid foot support
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dayton, OH
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Comfortable, lightweight for speed one of the best advanced show out
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, durable, breathable, good traction, comfortable, stays clean a long time
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Guard Sneaker

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I wore these sneakers straight from the box into a match and the break in time was not needed at all.
As soon as I stepped out onto the court, the traction was grippy and the Lunarlon cushion was soft and responsive. The support is amazing in the Kobe 8's because of the way the upper fit your foot as well as the great heel lock down. The sneaker is ventilated but not extremely which is not an issue as the foot is always contain regardless of slight moisture build up.
These Kobe's are the best ones to date and are the ultimate guards shoe
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, durable, good ankle support, breathable, good traction, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kobe 8 System Christmas Day

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from West Virginia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
My first pair of Kobe 8's and I am VERY impressed! This is only the second colorway that has released but maybe the best... the Christmas Kobe's have been very good the last couple years this years being no exception. The fit is true to size and the weight of these is phenomenal... not sure of the of the actual weight but there WAY lighter than the Kobe 7. I plan of purchasing several colorways of this shoe and really like the direction Nike is going with this shoe. A+
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, durable, good traction, comfortable, light as a feather
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightest, and most explosive shoe.

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Utah
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
The Kobe 8 is a great shoe. It is extremely lightweight and breathable. They are comfortable right out of the box. I have been playing in them every day for a week and I feel quicker in them. I have been playing in the Kobe 6 for the last year and the 8’s are lighter, more breathable, and more responsive. The only thing bad I can say is the insole is a bit firm but it feels better the more you play in them.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, durable, breathable, good traction, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite Pair of Kobes I've had since the 5

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from troy, ny
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Played in them for 2 days so far and loving them. Only problem I really have is the inside sole. Feels a bit slippery & definitely takes time to get used to. Other than that a well constructed shoe that I look forward to playing in.
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, durable, good ankle support, good traction, comfortable
Cons: inside cushion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kobe 8

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Apex NC
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
The Kobe 8 in the Port Wine/Pure Platinum/Team Red/Bright Crimson coloway is another great edition to the lineup.
They are lightweight, provide unparalleled functionality and are stylish on and off the basketball court.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, durable, breathable, good traction, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent basketball shoes

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles California
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These shoes are a must for any guard, ultra light, great cushioning and support. If you have wide feet I don't recommend these. Very responsive and comfortable overall I'm very satisfied! Great job again nike!
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, runs true to size, durable, breathable, good traction, comfortable
Cons: poor ankle support, runs narrow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet kicks

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
LOve em, they are like wearing slippers they are that soft. Only thing i don't like is the thin, slippery laces. But i can deal with them for the how comfortable they are.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, cool colors, runs true to size, durable, breathable, good traction, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>