Customer Reviews for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's

The Nike Air Max Tailwind+ 5 running shoe is for the neutral runner who seeks soft cushioning and bold, versatile style. Lightweight and supportive foam upper delivers ultimate comfort. Breathable top mesh offers added ventilation. Forefoot and heel non-pressurized, articulated Air-Sole® units and a soft, yet responsive Cuslon midsole delivers plush comfort and a smooth ride. BRS 1000™ carbon rubber heel with environmentally preferred rubber throughout gives durable traction. Flex groves encourage a smooth transition. Wt. 13.1 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.179 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
24 out of 28(86%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Review 1 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The last of the Great Tailwind

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from St Charles, Il
Been wearing these Tailwinds since '99. True to form, they are fantastic for the "Clydesdale" runner. Great cushioning, long wearing and comfortable. From 1.5 mi to 4mi they are the bomb. You won't come in first as they are heavy, but your ankles, knees, and back will thank you.
Pros: good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning
Cons: heavy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

True to size, excellent fit, a little narrow

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Venice, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Like other Tailwinds, this shoe fits well (true to size), has great cushioning, and looks terrific. Unlike other Tailwinds, this shoe feels a little narrow.
Pros: runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: runs narrow
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good model

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Minsk, BY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Previously used the previous models TailWind. This best of all versions.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, good cushioning
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Perth, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Very good shoes. Were delivered promptly which makes buying of Eastbay as convenient as going to the store. Biggest difference is price on Eastbay v in store price which makes the value of the shoe even better. I have big feet, size 14, these shoes have enabled some very good arch support. They were a tad narrow across the bridge but I was told they will stretch to fit. That has so far been the case and the shoe is becoming more and more comfortable as I wear it. Highly recommend.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing - made my feet ache when walking

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Mechanicsburg, PA
I bought these to replace 3 year old Nike cross trainers which I wear for 1-2 mile walks a few times a week. I was sorely disappointed - literally - that these shoes literally made my feet ache and cramp when I walked. I gave them a fair try for about 5 weeks hoping that maybe they needed breaking in (which would still be a poor shoe experience) but they never did stop making my feet sore so I stopped wearing them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great looking shoe with comfort

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, Ga
Shoes are great, I didn't buy them for their looks. I had the tailwind 4 and they were awesome, so I figure 5 would be to. I am a personal trainer and I am on my feet all day. I workout with all of my clients. After 5, hour long workouts my feet felt great. They have great support and cushion. The style looks better in person, I've gotten so many compliments. The pic does the shoes no justice. Take my word, these shoes are worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too soft in the heel

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Maine
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
This is the first pair of Nike running shoes that I honestly can not use for my training (5-10K) and ended up giving them to my father for leisure wear.
The shoe looks great and has the amenities of a quality shoe but when I ran it just put too much stress on my arches, calves, and shins. Rather than pursue personalized running soles, I'll just get fitted for another shoe as soon as possible.
Just a bummer these didn't work out.
Cons: poor arch support, uncomfortable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

lightweight and comfortable

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from australia
this show is great, lightweight,comfortable, good soles, however the only bad thing is that the rubber soles on the bottom of the shoe come have come up after running on hard surfaces, i've had to glue them back to the sole.. the only downside!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor fit.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pocatello, ID
Had the shoe for a week and the fit on the shoe does not appear to be the same "fit" as other recent Nike purchase. Would return if not such a hassle. should have went with the Nike Air Max.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
This shoe has the softest cushion I've found in any cross training shoe so far. It's very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME RUNNING SHOE

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MPOUNTAIN VIEW CA
Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's IS A AWESOME RUNNING SHOE Overall rating Excellent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A+

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Halifax, NS
Another great pair of sneaks by NIKE. Not quite the same as the good ol' Tailwinds or Max International, but a great ride none-the-less
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
Cons: runs wide
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this shoe is light and comfortable

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tacoma Washington
Great shoes. Comfort n value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJune 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Hopkinsville, KY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
A quality shoe for everyday use especially training purposes, however if an individual has wide feet I wouldn't recommend it.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, good cushioning
Cons: runs narrow, poor arch support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and great value!

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bloomfield,NJ
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
They fit perfect and are cushioned!
Pros: runs true to size, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe for my high impact cardio workouts.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Jacksonville Beach, Florida
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Great, comfortable shoe and delivered with painless, efficient customer service with very fair pricing.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good choice if you need cushioning.

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Zealand
I purchased this product for:myself
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Suitable for running on hard surfaces, reduces joint pain!
Pros: runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoes

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Very stylish and comfortable. Order true to size
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
Cons: runs narrow, runs small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Nike Air Max TailWind + 5 - Men's
Based on the average of (10) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.1 / 5
4.1 / 5
9 out of 10 recommend this product