Customer Reviews for Nike Hyperdunk + Sport Pack - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

Nike Hyperdunk + Sport Pack - Men's

The Nike Hyperdunk+ basketball shoe tracks every move of your game, and syncs directly to your phone, letting you know exactly how high, how quick and how hard you play. The upper features the most advanced version of Flywire, which uses high-strength cables for support and stability. These responsive cables are loose when at rest and dynamic in motion, tensing to help stabilize the foot. A synthetic heel clip enhances lockdown, as the engineered foam and mesh of the upper reduces weight while further increasing breathability, strength and durability. Simultaneously, the collar of the shoe wraps lower in the back and higher over the front, increasing flexibility and lateral stability in the heel and ankle. The open mesh tongue and full inner sleeve provide lightweight ventilation and a more secure, comfortable fit. Basketball-specific Lunarlon midsole supplies a soft, yet responsive foundation. Improving upon past models, there is additional foam in key areas, enhancing lateral stability and durability. A 3-D shaped, glass-reinforced, composite midfoot shank offers torsional rigidity and responsiveness. The solid rubber provides durability and traction on a variety of surfaces while a modified traction pattern and forefoot pivot circle enhance multi-direction grip. Moreover, a high-wrapping lateral outrigger provides reinforcement for hard cuts, providing players with the support they need for high performance. Nike+ Basketball Sport Pack is included to provide everything you need to get going: The shoes are embedded with Nike+ Pressure Sensors, two Nike+ Sport Sensors, Nike+ Sport Charger and a Nike+ Sport Adapter. The Nike+ Pressure Sensors and the Nike+ Sport Sensors capture movement and performance information, which is then used to calculate your stats using Nike's proprietary algorithms. The information captured by your Nike+ basketball shoe is synced directly to the Nike+ app on your mobile device using Bluetooth version 4.0 (a.k.a. "smart," or low-energy technology). To get started, you will need to download the free mobile app to your compatible mobile device. Wt. 12.8 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nike Hyperdunk + Sport Pack - Men's
Review 1 for Nike Hyperdunk + Sport Pack - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Nike plus is awesome

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Mackay Queensland aus
The Nike plus sensors are great. There easy to use and I can't wait to get home and try beat My last vert and quickness thus making me train harder each time I step out onto the court. The hyperdunk itself is an amazing shoe great support, great traction, light and comfortable.
Pros: lightweight, good traction, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Hyperdunk + Sport Pack - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool Hyperdunk +

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
BallerErv
from Stockholm
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Awesome shoes, almost PERFECT but has some small Cons
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, cool colors, good ankle support, breathable, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
Cons: creases easily, poor traction, non-durable, non-grip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Hyperdunk + Sport Pack - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
ss12
from Salt Lake City, UT
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Like my 2011's, it has taken a few games to get worn into, but I think Nike made some great improvements with these. The side support has more padding and feels more snug than the 2011's making the fear of rolling my ankle lower a little. The lunar support is awesome. So far there's no discomfort or blistering from the sole structure. The Nike+ program is impressive and fun to mess around with. The only reason why I'm not giving them 5 out of 5 is because the blisters i did receive were on the top of my toe/foot from a seam.
Pros: cool colors, durable, good ankle support, good traction, easy to clean, mostly comfortable, gets dirty but easy to clean
Cons: not breathable, does not break in quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Hyperdunk + Sport Pack - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best basketball shoe

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sugar
from Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
The best and most comfortable basketball shoes I've owned. Strongly recommend. Nike+ is amazing and very accurate
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, durable, good ankle support, breathable, good traction, easy to clean, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Hyperdunk + Sport Pack - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for quick Guards

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
PatsBoy
from Sydney, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Great for quick guards who can play full court defense. These shoes have great traction for quick change of direction and lateral movement. Also has great ankle support and one of the best basketball shoes to come out in 2012 besides the Retros.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, durable, good ankle support, breathable, good traction, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
Cons: slightly narrow around the midfoot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Hyperdunk + Sport Pack - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nike+ technology works well, motivates further

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pozz
from Melbourne, Victoria
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
6 / 5
6 / 5
The shoe is responsive, light, supportive, though in my view slightly firm in the sole, which is strange for a Lunarlon shoe, but by no means harsh.
Had these for several weeks now and only one session wasn't data captured properly from the shoes- some sort of connection issue. But one out of 12 or so isn't too bad.
These do give you the incentive to work harder, gather more pints, go faster etc. The vertical leap measurement in particular is someone that you want to push higher, which may not be realistic depending on the age of the user :-)
Only problem with these is that I want to record my data at all times, meaning that my other bball shoes (non data-capturing) go neglected, despite being awesome shoes in their own right.
Pros: lightweight, good ankle support
Cons: gets dirty fast, not enough colors
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Hyperdunk + Sport Pack - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving it

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvinNikez
from AUS
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First off this colourway is awesome! The picture shows the flywire being white and blue glow but it's really purple and blue glow which looks even better! Cushioning is great , heaps of comfort. When I first wore these on they felt bouncy and I honestly felt I could jump higher [of course I didn't]. Very light on your feet. Runs narrow though so do consider eastbay's sizing suggestion. The nike+ technology is great, even though I'm pretty sure this kind of technology has been around for a while, nike+ has done a great job creating the nike+ basketball app and making it user friendly. If you happen to have a 3G iphone then the nike+ technology will not work, only from 3GS onwards. Wished these pair of shoes came with another set of laces, maybe an alternate colour but overall I'm loving these hyperdunks.
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, good ankle support, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Hyperdunk + Sport Pack - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this product!

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
spazzyspencer
from Maine
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These have more to them than expected.
Pros: lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, good ankle support, breathable, good traction, comfortable
Cons: not enough colors
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Hyperdunk + Sport Pack - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST BASKETBALL SHOE

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hisairness
from Chicago, IL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is the best playing basketball shoe I have ever used. It had cutting edge technology that is useful as it can be combined with Nike+ Training for customized workouts. If you can afford the price you will not be disappointed. Very good looking at that
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, cool colors, good ankle support, good traction, comfortable
Cons: not breathable
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Hyperdunk + Sport Pack - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

needs better colors

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
cuban11
from madison WI
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i like it but needs more colors
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, durable, good ankle support, breathable, good traction, comfortable
Cons: not enough colors
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Hyperdunk + Sport Pack - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nerdbert314
from Riverside, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
The price tag of these shoes can drive many people away from this shoe. Many of you guys are pretty skeptical of the Nike+ system. Let me tell you this, don't be. If you're in need of motivation or want to know how active you are on the court, then NikeFuel is there to gauge it for you. It also tells you your hustle. Vertical is exactly like how it is shown in the ads.
Now onto the actual shoe itself. The Hyperdunk 2011 was a phenomenal shoe. The weight, lockdown, and traction were all big pluses. It was almost perfect for some people. But, the biggest problem for it was the fact that after a while, it became a sauna. Ventilation could've been better.
This new generation of Hyperdunk has the next generation Flywire system allowing for a mesh-like outer. It's almost like the Hyperfuse in terms of breathability but three times the cushion.
The cushion on this is great especially if you're a fan of Lunarlon. Under the toebox of the shoe there is extra padding so it feels like your foot is inside of a pillow. It's a little narrow because of that so size up if you have really wide feet.
The same heel support from the Hyperdunk 2011s are there on this shoe. The heel cup is different but the shoes still have those same indentations in the heel.
Traction. Traction is usually the deal breaker for most buyers. It's not herringbone. It's something completely different. The grooves are spaced far apart and are extremely deep. By having multidirectional traction, the shoe can have that grip without the need for herringbone. It seems like this traction pattern will increase the longevity of the shoe.
My only gripe with this shoe, and it's a small one, is that you will always need to wear crew socks. For most people that won't even be a factor, but it's just something I noticed when I first tried the Nike+ system.
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, durable, good ankle support, breathable, good traction, comfortable
Cons: irritating without crew socks
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Nike Hyperdunk + Sport Pack - Men's
Based on the average of (10) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.6 / 5
4.6 / 5
9 out of 10 recommend this product