Customer Reviews for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's

adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's

The adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 throwing shoe is built for the circular motion of the hammer and discuss with a sturdy hook-and-loop closure. adiWear® outsole and EVA insole provide the anchor you need for greater throwing power. Medial strap for arch and midfoot support. Carbon rubber outsole for durability. Wt. 12.3 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 out of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Review 1 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ottawa, Ontario
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Make no mistake: this is a beautiful shoe. The overall concept is great, from the nicely formed, ergonomic sole, to the snug-fitting heal cap, and ending with a nice lace-up and medial strap system. Transitions from the heel to the forefoot are excellent. My only flaw with the shoe is the compression you feel at the base of the toes, where the cut narrows quite sharply. It's not the width you lose, - it's the height, for some reason. I think a lot of throwers would find this unsettling.
Strangely though, there is about a 10 minute break-in period where it feels like the whole shoe settles in well to form a comfortable, snug wrap over the foot. This helps make the overall 'connection' with the ground.
2 thumbs up.
Pros: durable, lightweight
Cons: runs narrow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very very Happy Thanks

PostedJune 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Australia
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Would recommend Eastbay to anyone very fast postage and very happy with shoes.
Pros: comfortable, durable, lightweight, runs true to size
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I have been using this discus/hammer shoe for 2 seasons in all three rotational events - discus, hammer throw and shot put. Unlike many other throwing shoes (e.g. Nike SD 3 and Zoom SD) this shoe is almost flat-soled, but still maintains a good speed because the sole is very smooth. It's a very comfortable shoe because of this, and you feel comfortable and well-planted when rotating in the shot and discus. The shoe quickly loses its speed, but still remains relatively fast, which I like. It is the best throwing shoe I've owned or tried in terms of performance and durability.
It is VERY narrow for a throwing shoe. I fit comfortably in a size 13 US, however in adidas sprint spikes I can easily fit into a size 12 US. All the adidas field event shoes seem to be this way. Keep in mind I have a wide forefoot.
It is also noticeably heavier than other throwing shoes, but this doesn't really matter (it certainly doesn't have any impact on technique).
These shoes also get slippery when it's wet, so be careful and make sure you practice in the rain a few times to get used to it.
Pros: durable, comfortable
Cons: runs narrow, heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good throwing shoe

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lawrence, KS
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As an experienced thrower I would recommend this shoe. Although the solid red color seems a little "loud", this shoe is a good Adidas throwing shoe which is competitively priced.
Initially the shoe feel a little tight but loosens up after about 10-15 minutes and feels reasonably comfortable. I like the built in arch support as I have always needed to wear separate arch supports with other shoes, but not with this shoe. Traction with this shoe seems to be excellent, and the weight of the shoe barely noticeable at all.
In the 3 months that I've owned this shoe the quality and resilience of the shoe seem to be very good.
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

like spinning on glass

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Northwest Iowa
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
the shoe performs admirably; took a little time to get used to spinning in these. Very little traction/friction; almost feels slippery at first. Also works well for gliding in the shot ring.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this product is the best shoe yet i've used

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from high desert
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
this shoe is the most comfortable shoe i;ve worn
Pros: runs true to size, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Brookfield, CT
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Great product for an experienced rotational thrower
Pros: durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from ohio
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These shoes are great! Perfect for shot put and discus.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from vi
good shoe great fit great price
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Unfortunately they did not fit.

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wooster, OH
I purchased this product for:other family/friend
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I ordered my grandson's usual size (13) but the shoes were too tight and uncomfortable so I had to return them. The shoes were nice and he liked them but they just did not fit. So expect these shoes to run a bit small in sizing.
Cons: runs small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fit as per specification

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Australia
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Good fit - just need to mould back around ankle so therefore no blistering. Produced instant PB - gotta be happy with that!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is fast and has a hard sole.

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Auckland,New Zealand
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I first thought that the shoe was to small but after wearing it for a bit i found the shoe to be greatly built. To be a good shoe the sole needs to be hard to have a good pivoting point. The shoe is very solid and i am very happy with them and they arrived just in time for my national championships.
Pros: comfortable, hard sole
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Now

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Casrson, CA
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
6 / 5
6 / 5
The shoes have only been in use for a couple of weeks, so the only rating I can give is the shoe fits well and seems as if it will not hinder my grandsons performance. So only time will tell over the long haul if the rating would remain the same. But again, right now...great shoe.
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great throwing shoe

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from mexico city
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
ive been a hammer thrower for 10 years now, and this type of shoes its been the one i been ussing for 3 years now and i been feeling great, improving my PB, great speed, turns, feeling.,
Pros: runs true to size, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great Shoe!!!!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Graham, TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Great shows and awesome for discus!!
Pros: runs true to size, durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great spin rate and I perform well in these!

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Miami
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These shoes are a good fit and allow me to compete at the highest level. The bottoms of this shoe allows a slick grip in the circle and allows you to perform well!
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable
Cons: runs narrow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easiest purchase ever!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NJ
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Son is a experienced thrower. Many places were sold out of large sizes. Eastbay had them in stock, good job.
Pros: comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too narrow

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Indiana
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Might be true to length but width was too narrow. Couldn't even be used.
Cons: runs narrow, uncomfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy and fit perfectly.

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Eugene, Oregon
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These shoes are great. Very nicely crafted.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for adidas adiZero Discus/Hammer 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Sidney, OH
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
Great shoe and was delivered promptly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>