Customer Reviews for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's

The Air Pegasus+ 29 brings the cushioning and ride that neutral runners expect from this legendary Nike running shoe, with an even better fit. A breathable engineered mesh upper provides ventilation and support where you need it most. External heel counter wraps the heel for a snug, secure fit. Welded, ultra-lightweight underlay wraps the forefoot for flexible support. Fitsole sockliner conforms to the shape of your foot and offers comfort and underfoot support. Premium Cushlon midsole works with a Nike Zoom™ unit in the heel for soft, responsive cushioning and great forefoot flexibility. Integrated and articulated crash pad with horizontal side cuts works to absorb the initial shock of impact and smoothes the transition from contact to midstance for a uniform ride. Environmentally preferred rubber in a Waffle® outsole is durable and gives great multi-surface traction with a measure of added cushioning. Rubber blades on the lateral outsole act as a cushioning device by folding down at contact for a soft, smooth transition. Flex grooves are deeper along the lateral side and more shallow on the medial side to promote a natural, smooth, and efficient stride. BRS 1000™ carbon rubber along the heel contact zone delivers maximum abrasion resistance in this high-wear area. Wt. 10.0 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.631 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
5 stars
49
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
62 out of 65(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Review 1 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thirty years later, still awesome.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cambridge, New York
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I bought my first pair of Nike Air Pegasus in 1984. I thought they were fantastic then and wore them until the line was discontinued. This is the first pair I've had since Nike started making them again and I am so impressed with this shoe. Right away, I have to make a disclaimer: I am THE neutral runner. A couple hundred miles into a running shoe and I have NO uneven wear marks anywhere, ever. I was told early on that this is a shoe for people with good to perfect form and I think it is true. If you have any irregularity of form, this may not be the shoe for you. That said, I put these on this morning, right out of the box and forgot that they were on my feet until I realized (two miles into the run) that there was no pain anywhere. These shoes are absolutely no frills, light weight, well cushioned, fast, comfortable running shoes for serious training. Back in the saddle riding the Pegasus after 30 years and so happy. As for people not liking this shoe - a couple pointers: It is a running shoe, if you do anything else with it, it probably won't hold up any more than a sport coupe would hold up pushing a snow plow. They are a road/track shoe. If you want something appropriate for trails, mud and water you will have to get a trail shoe and deal with the extra weight.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Provo, UT
The Air Pegasus is the Best running shoe I've ever used. I am a neutral runner so I don't like a lot of the other brand's shoes because they end up hurting my foot. This model gives great heal stability, is light weight, excellent on joints and tendons. The colors and style of the shoes is art. Only draw back is that the upper shoe section does not give as much stability as the previous model did. So it's a one directional runner. It's not as good for cutting or lateral movements on a field or other cross training. It's a distance running and racing shoe. I am extremely happy with the shoe, I want to buy another for when this one wears out. However, I do hope Nike brings back the upper shoes stability like the 28 model.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning, great for neutral runners
Cons: not great for cross training
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent shoes and great price

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
Always wanted to try the Air Pegasus for running and when I needed a new pair I thought I would give them a shot; glad I did. Eastbay was easiest for me to find them and the price was competitive if not better on all the shoes I searched for. Ended up buying two different pairs. Highly recommend the shoes and Eastbay.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My running shoe in the Army for the past 5 yrs

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Denver CO
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I've been using the Pegasus as my running shoes for many years now. Love it. I have a wide foot though and cannot order the standard width shoe (which has quite a few color options). Instead, as far as I can see, I have only one color option when buying the Pegasus in the wider widths. Not that big of a deal I guess, the shoe itself is perfect for my foot. I have a high arch and need lots of cushioning.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: runs narrow
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great High Mileage Shoe

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I've used the Pegasus off and on for years. This shoe is by far the softest model to date. It feels like the Vomero, except much lighter. Even after a couple hundred miles it feels like a pillow and the new upper is holding up better then ever. Not a good speed day shoe (not what it is intended for either), but if you are just logging miles this shoe would be great. Awesome value for the price.
Pros: durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Comfortable

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Middletown, PA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Very nice 'ride'. Very comfortable, like walking on air.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent fit!

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York
When I put the shoes on for the first time I thought my feet were walking on a Tempurpedic mattress. I had no fatigue or soreness putting the shoes on right out of the box.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great width

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Australia
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Will buy anything with 4e width
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Comfort

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Norman, ok
No break in period. Fit great. Best cushion shoe on the market.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great shoe

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pa & FL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very comfortable, and travels well - used them in Europe on the cobblestone streets and they were great......the tread was/is superb for icy and slushy streets.....they never showed wetness within the interior in spite of the weather conditions....when the temp outside is hot though, they tend to not breathe as well as would be preferable, but, since my purpose was to have a waterproof shoe I rate them excellent, definitely 5....
Pros: good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

nike mindset: Looks > Performance

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Wichita, KS
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I dont care if my shoes are neon, blue, purple, brown.. it doesnt matter, but nike has managed to mess up the only running shoe they had with a very solid and classic design, I am a Nike Junkie and only wear Nike shoes and apparel, but I have very flat feet and run for a college that has us running 60 miles a week and the design on the arch of the shoe is terrible for anyone who is training at the collegiate level, unless you are a sprinter.
Pros: lightweight, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: poor arch support, uncomfortable, non-durable
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value for money

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne, Australia
Soft comfortable and light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Finally, a shoe that really is "cushioned".

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I have been running for a very long time and have tried a large number of shoes and it is about time that a recent shoe billed as neutral and cushioned really is. All other well known, and strongly advertised shoes, in this category that I have tried, quite simply, feel like boards and are painful to run in. These have been truly comfortable from the start. The true test will be how they last.
Pros: comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheapo

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
These shoes were nothing like the product description. They were made of cheap plastic and the colors, although simple, were off by several shades in such a way that the shoe looked even more cheap than they actually were. Not worth the money and definitely not the high quality I've grown to expect from Nike.
Cons: uncomfortable, non-durable
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Pegasus 29

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dundalk, MD
Awesome shoe. This is the only shoe I have worn in the past 6 years. It is without a doubt the most comfortable shoe out there. I have since turned my wife on to these shoes. We both love them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I bought this shoe to primarily work in. I am on my feet for hours at a time and the Pegasus +29 is quite possibly the most comfortable work shoe I have worn. The Pegasus +29 may not be the super high tech running shoe of today but it performs above and beyond ...
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
The shoes are great. I was concerned about how they fit when I first tried them on, but the right pair of socks and it was fine. Sizing is pretty normal. Lightweight and you can really feel the cushioning properties. Great shoe I would recommend for casual wear or for moderate intensity running.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pair of shoes ever!

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from SF, CA
I had the previous model of these and they were my favorite shoes. It was hard to throw them away, but I saw these - the new model. They do not disappoint and my feet are happy too. I am actually wearing them now.
Not my everyday running shoes, but I wear them for comfortable, casual wear.
Pros: runs true to size, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have had two other shoes for this model.

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Adirondacks, New York
I like the shoe but I prefer the model 28 better..I did relay this to Nike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Air Pegasus + 29 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

comfortable but they run small

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
Comfortable running shoes but run a little small I have a large foot and my toe is too close for my normal comfort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>