Customer Reviews for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's

The ASICS® GEL-Nimbus™ 14 running shoe brings with it a sleeker profile than its predecessors while maintaining its famously plush, yet stable ride. Key improvements include reduction in weight, increased breathability and an all new design sure to please runners ranging from the underpronator to the moderate overpronator. Open mesh upper. Biomorphic Fit® features strategically placed stretch material to help reduce buckling and the potential for irritation. Discrete Eyelets disburse lace tension, creating a customized fitting environment and enhanced upper comfort. Impact Guidance System (I.G.S.®) employs linked componentry that enhances the foot’s natural gait from heel strike to toe-off. Space Trusstic System® creates a pocket between the Trusstic System® device and the midsole, allowing for controlled midsole deformation and more efficient foot function. Guidance Line vertical flex groove decouples the tooling along the line of progression for enhanced gait efficiency. ComforDry sockliner provides cushioning performance and anti-microbial properties for a cooler, drier, healthier environment. Wt. 11.1 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 72 reviews
5 stars
55
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
65 out of 72(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Review 1 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Winner

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Nashville, TN
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
User submitted photo
It has an excellent cushioning system but at the same time it's still flexible. Would buy again
Pros: runs true to size, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good cushioning but a soft overall performer

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
david22552
from East Bay, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
2nd outing -- I took these off road and onto a dirt/y trail through the hills (near Berkeley Hills, CA). I lost confidence in the footing as soon as I dropped in, which made it a really technical outing- more work/less fun/my fault --I blanked that these are mainly for flats. Either way, the lateral spin and tread made it a tough run. Much love, btw, to the under-appreciated Asics trail runners they were intended to replace (they're blue & black -can't recall the type at the moment). I'll use these for pure flat surface training but my next will be a pure trail runner, so I can do both -- warm up on flats and then go dirt. If you're on pure flats (my 1st run in them), these shoes will probably make you happy/good price. And have to admit to really liking the bright neon yellow color for some reason.. Would love advice on the (truly) best trail runner out there for the next attempt.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: non-durable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Shoes

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
HighKms
from Toronto, Canada
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I have worn the Nimbus line for about 5 Years now and am never disappointed. These took a little getting used to after the 13's but they fit like a glove. As a competitive runner, I run high km totals and these are the only shoe I wear for training. I go through a pair about every 2 months or so and 5-6 pairs a year and have never had a problem. Highly recommended to anyone!
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, durable, comfortable, good cushioning
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great.

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chubbly
from Andover, mn
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I have bought this same shoe for many years. It is the best running shoe that I have bought. The size and comfort are great!
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable, good cushioning
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these shoes!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cats
from San Ramon, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I have used many pairs of this shoe model and continue to buy them-- hope Asics continues this product line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
JimC
from Santa Barbara, CA
as advertised....Nimbus is always a good choice
Pros: runs true to size, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great running shoe at an exceptional price.

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
CaptFitness
from NE Pennsylvania
Purchased during a 20% off sale. Had the color and style I was looking for..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Was happy with shoes 100% what can I say

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pife
from Shelby Ohio
Nice shoes. I know the person I purchased them for will be happy
Please see below
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

On the Road Again

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
CDWIV
from Tampa, FL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
This shoe is exactly what it says it is. Great fit and a comfortable ride. May buy another just to have when these wear out.
Pros: runs true to size, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Size not true. Arches not the same.

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
RunningCoach
from Northeast
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I have been wearing the Nimbus line for several years and was always more than satisfied with it. The latest version, Nimbus 14, seems to be a Drastic move away from the original design. Furthermore, the quality of construction is nothing like what I have gotten used to with Asics. Perhaps they have changed manufacturer recently. These shoes are no longer True to Size. My 2E width which used to be roomy, is now Barely laceable. In addition, my flat feet can detect a high arch support in the right shoe, but none in the left shoe. I will be looking elsewhere from now on.
Pros: good cushioning
Cons: poor arch support, uncomfortable, not true to size claims
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort and Performance

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jimbo
from East Coast
These shoes strike the perfect balance between the Kayano series and the 33 series...I under pronate and these shoes don'e seem to wear down as fast as the Kayano's...yet they have the soft and lighter feel of the 33. I finished a 14 mile run in them last weekend and didn't feel any tenderness or blisters on any areas of my foot afterwards. They are a solid and reliable investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fit great. Love the colors. Wide fit works well

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gregty
from Molalla, OR
Loved them so much, went on line and purchased another identical pair!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe, pricey but great

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris
from Ambler, PA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I think the gel nimbus 13 are actually alot softer when it comes to cusihoning but this one seems to be more durable. the gel makes it feel like your jogging on pillows, but the only problem is it isn't as breathable as other shoes.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning
Cons: not breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Light

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Animal
from Miami Lakes, FL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
This is my 2nd pair of Asic's and thus far they are very light , comfortable and impressive shoes. I love the array of color combinations that are available, especially since I wear a size 16 shoe.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJune 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bigboy
from Ohio
The Asics gel-nimbus 14 are a comfortable shoe. I alternate my Asics so I have only ran once in this pair once. In four miles my feet still felt good , no shin splints , my legs did not feel as tight as normal. I have worn the shoe for everyday use till it is a little more worn in. I think they look good and many people seem to like them also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and well fitting

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
onlineshopper
from Northern Virginia
This was the first pair of men's shoes that I bought for my 13 year old son. Discovered that the 2E equated to W in boys widths. He is very happy with these shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good consistent performance over previous years

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
marsblackmon
from Alabama
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I ordered two pair of these shoes since my old ones had finally worn out. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the newer version was consistent with previous years. Like many customers, I have found if you like a current model of a particular shoe, it is wise to buy two pair or more since they are always changing features and colors. In short, I still love this shoe!
Pros: runs true to size, durable, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good price on last years nimbus.

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
WorkingMan
from GA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
I wear these for work. I do always change out the stock inserts for better arch support and extra cushion. I buy the last years model to save over the dept stores and also the color selection is much better online. Try on in the local store to make sure you like them and then order online.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
fastolddog
from Overland Park, KS
Asics's has done it again, great shoe very good ride. Best shoe ever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ASICS® Gel - Nimbus 14 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great runner that lives up to expectations

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
FlashMason
from Lorain, Ohio
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I haven't worn a pair of Asics since middle school & I now know what I was missing. Very comfortable shoe all around, and I've already ran a few miles without officially breaking them in. Only reason I didn't rate it a 5, is because the Nimbus 15's are out and I'm sure they've improved slightly.
Pros: runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>