Customer Reviews for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's

An entirely different approach to trail running, the New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 running shoe features a midsole that delivers the benefits of barefoot running with the protection of a lightweight trainer. Inspired by nature. Improved by science. With only a 4mm drop from heel to toe, as little as a third of that of a traditional running shoe, the Minimus collection holds a world of discovery for neutral runners as well as those with gait issues or chronic injury to conquer by learning better form. No-sew upper provides lightweight comfort and support. Deconstructed ACTEVA® midsole offers great flexibility and a featherweight cushion. Minimal Vibram® outsole has been designed for maximum performance with specific zones of use. Non-removable insole. Wt. 4.6 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
3.868 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
30 out of 38(79%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Review 1 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfy

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
User submitted photo
Light, and good on turain. Wish for more support for longer runs but great for short ones like 8K
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Its exactly as advertised!

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from sydney
This shoe is a very minimal-support, light running shoe, as New Balance promised. It has just enough support in the critical areas, as required when running, and is the perfect casual shoe too as it is small, light and very sexy.
The only thing i would say is that the shoe tongue slips around a little as there is no loop for the laces to thread through to keep it in place, this is a very minor issue though, and does not affect comfort or performance.
If you have always wanted Vibrams but didnt want to go to that extreme then this is the shoe for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Overall comfortable, however I did not need half a size larger, and if anything I could actually see going half a size smaller.
The ridges on the back sometimes irritate my skin without socks on, but other than that they are great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just as comfy as a pair of socks

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
First off let me say I love Eastbay. Always get my stuff really fast with just standard shipping. I ordered these on a Saturday night and received them on Thursday.
Regarding these shoes, I almost feel like I am wearing a pair of low-cut socks, these shoes are so comfy and fit so nice and snuggly. If you plan on wearing socks, you better order a bigger size. I do not wear socks with them, and my normal athletic shoe size is perfect.
I have not tried these for running yet, currently I am using them while doing p90x and Zumba. I am extremely pleased with how they support my feet during all the different moves required with my cross-training.
I have tried a lot of different athletic shoes and for me, New Balance is the only way to go, especially these shoes. Love 'em !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't bother

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Zealand
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
After finally receiving these shoes (was stuffed around forever trying to get them) I didn't even get to wear them before noticing the stitching on the tongue was damaged and the tongue was only just still attached and then noticed also that some of the grip circles on the base were only half attached.. can't imagine how poorly they'd last once actually running in them on the trail as they're meant for. Contacted New Balance and received no reply. Shipped internationally so not worth the cost of sending them back. Be warned.
Cons: damaged, poor quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super Lightweight!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tokyo, Japan
This shoe is amazingly lightweight - I was surprised. The tread is impressively anti-skid and I feel sure-footed crossing a variety of surfaces.
The fit was as described; I usually wear a 9 and this shoe fits perfectly.
The color and styling are quite nice and the photo represents the look of the shoe well.
The downside is that the description didn't include the warnings attached to the shoe regarding its relative lack of support.
I would buy this shoe again.
Pros: lightweight, great tread
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love these! a bit large.

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from new york
Very comfy, roomy in the toe area. Very cool looking. I'm all about cool. They come in different colors and may order another pair! Wear size 8, but I find that some brands are smaller then usual.These are larger then other 9's....Brooks seem to be smaller then the norm.I order 9's in boots wear thick socks.Saucony too run small for me.Eastbay we woman need alot more cooler styles!
Pros: comfortable., many colors to choose.
Cons: pricey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT FOR ME!

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from South West Asia
I normally buy shoes with more cushion for running and now I know why. After the first mile I had to stop. Legs and feet were so cramped up that it took me a good 20 min just to walk normally again.
I use them in the gym still when I'm not running, and they are fine for that. Also the suede leather on the toes stains very easily and is difficult to get clean again
Pros: breathable. good for hot weather., ightweight
Cons: no cushion... none., stains easily and doesnt come clean al the way
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved, Loved these shoes

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Zealand
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Stunning color combination and loved the laces!
I like how they were designed with less support in front. They are my fave shoes to wear when weight training my legs as the minimalist front support helps make a good connection between my feet and legs muscles!
Pros: good traction, lightweight, cool colors, runs true to size, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is not ideal for sand running

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
I currently do 3days of bootcamp on the beach where we do alot of sand running. I have found it very difficult to run with these shoes on the sand and very uncomfortable around the toe (not enough flexibility). I purchased these shoes purely for these 3day sessions a week and I am finding I need to go back to barefoot running.
Cons: not ideal for sand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Afghanistan
This style of the sjoe is great looking. They are very light and I love to run in them but after running in them my feet hurt. They say in the discription they run small, they dont. They are true to my size. I ended up ordering to what the discription said , "order a size .5 larger." now my shoe came to big.
Pros: great runnning shoe
Cons: discription said order .5 size larger. shoe was a
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool-looking shoes

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Aus
Ive got thin legs and long feet, so I'm always on the look out for slim /narrow shoes and these ones are one of the best I have! Great for training/running short distance/boxing.I've tried them on longer runs but I find that I need more support as I am an under-pronator.
Pros: good looking, comfy
Cons: not much support for long runs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from WI
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Due to poor cushioning I can't seem to wear it for a long period of time. Great colors for short shopping trip.
Pros: cool colors, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
Cons: poor traction, poor cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

love the color

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia Pa.
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
I love the colors on the sneakers, I did not like the fact that they turn in around the toe area.
Pros: runs true to size, durable, comfortable, breathable
Cons: poor cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great running shoe to take travelling

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Brisbane Australia
this is my second New Balance Minimus purchase. Although not offering sufficient support for running every day they are a good compromise shoe to pack when travelling.....took me through Europe last year.
Pros: very lightweight
Cons: insufficient support for running every day
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Freakin' awesome!

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Australia
Freakin'awesome ! Super lightweight! V comfy! was warned by my mate not to leave them lying around because she loved them! love the runners love the service ! Thanks Eastbay!
Pros: v lightweight, awesome colours, v comfy, make you run faster ! lol
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE these shoes

PostedMay 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
They fit really well, are really light and have excellent grip. I have problems with the backs of shoes hitting nerves and causing pain in my ankles and have no issues with these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Highly recommend, great price
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, cool colors, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very light

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Turkey
Although very light and comfortable, they are too big and I have to return for a smaller size. I expect my next pair to be what I expect.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Women's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shoe!

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Okc, OK
Fit true to my size, very comfortable. I love the low profile style and it's so light weight.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>