Customer Reviews for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's

An entirely different approach to trail running, the New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 running shoe features a midsole that delivers the benefits of barefoot running with the protection of a lightweight trainer. Inspired by nature. Improved by science. With only a 4mm drop from heel to toe, as little as a third of that of a traditional running shoe, the Minimus collection holds a world of discovery for neutral runners as well as those with gait issues or chronic injury to conquer by learning better form. No-sew upper provides lightweight comfort and support. Deconstructed ACTEVA® midsole offers great flexibility and a featherweight cushion. Minimal Vibram® outsole has been designed for maximum performance with specific zones of use. Non-removable insole. Wt. 5.8 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
1
35 out of 44(80%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Review 1 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Ballin Dawhg!!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I have to carry can of spray repellent to keep girls off a me when Im wearing these shoes!!
Pros: ultra light, cool
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not too bad, but not as good as the previous model

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oahu, Hawaii
First I would like to say that I sincerely like my NB Minimus shoes, they are the only minimalist shoe I will wear. However, this shoe in particular was not all I thought it would be. The day i got them, I went for a 10 mile run and when I was done I noticed that the right shoe was already separating at the lateral portion of the shoe where the rubber meets the mesh, as well as at the toe where the rubber meets the mesh. I have since put about 60-70 miles on them without any additional "abnormal" wear and tear. As far as comfort, the interior of the shoe is far more rigid then that of the older NB Trails and the mesh on this shoe is also very rigid. In order for me to break the shoe in and make it a bit more comfortable and less rigid, I had to wash them in the shower about 2-3 times a week for a couple weeks. Now they are not too bad, but I would still prefer the older NB Trails with the "curved" toe.
Pros: sleek look, bright colors for maximum visibility
Cons: less than desirable durability, rigid mesh and insole, less comfortable than previous model
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

light weight and good looking

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, Texas
Awesome shoe "very" light weight and very good for running if you like that road feel. Not a lot of cushion but great arch support. The color was even better in person, looks yellow in the picture but is more neon in person, just what I was looking for. All around good shoe I would buy it again. Some say buy a size smaller because they run big, I wear a 9 and ordered a 9, and it was a perfect fit.
Pros: light weight, bright neon color, great arch support
Cons: durability issue over time
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fabric is too fragile.

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Australia
Excellent shoes as far as comfort.
I love being able to feel my feet as I'm running.
The shoes are really light weight.
The downside is that the fabric isn't tough enough for a trail shoe and has tears in it after less than four weeks wear away from trails!
I would also like something sewn into the tongue to use the laces to hold it in place, so it doesn't slide to each side.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
Cons: fragile fabric
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Runs big and narrow.

PostedJune 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
Good shoe overall, however it was just too large and quite narrow. I don't have very wide feet, but I woud say that they are slightly wider than normal. I wear a uk 9.5 normally and would have gone for a uk 8.5 for length and a uk 9 for width, so quite hard to fit me unfortnately.
Nonetheless, soles look good and shoe is very light. Might be better suited to the lighter runner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

light weight, hard wearing

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from mackay qld
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
great shoes, can hurt the feet and legs if your new to minimilist running, thats why i bought the 890's for those longer runs. hard wearing, you trash them and then simply throw them in the washing machine and they are good as new! love them, second pair i have bought
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, durable, breathable, good traction, easy to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great shoe but neon green.

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
Nothing wrong with the shoe itself... you do have to go with the size recommendations that EASTBAY suggests... but the shoe isn't yellow... it's like a neon green... if that matters to you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lite and comfortable

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from overseas
great shoe, added innersoles and really comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This is a 50/50 shoe

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Columbia, SC
It doesn't come with insoles(keep that in mind). I recommend if you're doing small running workouts. I do not recommend for all terrain running, it will beat up your calves and feet. After a period of time I don't recommend for road races, once you put a little wear and tear in shoe, keep it simple. Shoe is very light.
I will say this I did take insoles from other running shoes and placed them in these, they lasted awhile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!!!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wellington, Florida
very happy with the shoes,thanks Eastbay!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great natural foot strike

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
The New Balance MT 20 is a great lightweight running shoe that facilitates a more natural midfoot strike and overall running style. I am starting on shorter, lower intensity runs to get used to the transition from a traditional running shoe to that of a minimalist shoe and look forward to running progressively longer runs with these shoes.
Pros: lightweight, natural foot strike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not for me

PostedMay 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Alaska
I was very tempted to keep these shoes because they looked so great! They were also very well constructed, but sadly the lack of footbed padding was just to jarring to walk and run in. I felt as if I could have done better in my flip flops! Trying another shoe from eastbay that sound as if they will be an improvement in comfort.
Pros: looked great, very well made
Cons: no footbed padding whatsoever
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very light but stiff

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from staten island, NY
Overall, I liked the shoe for being light weight and good looks, but when I took it off after my first run, the heel cuff had torn gaping holes in both of my Achilles and blood got all over them, the back of the heel was too stiff and rubbed on my heel every step. Everything was great except for that, so I returned them
Pros: light, minimalist
Cons: uncomfortable, tight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I just wanted a solid, lightweight shoe to wear at the gym for all different types of cross-training... Have nothing but good things to say for this shoe, and will definitely buy another pair in the future... They size big, so if you are between, take the smaller size - otherwise, no complaints whatsoever...
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great shoe

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
This is my second pair of Trail 2s and I love the shoe for an everyday wear or a pair of gym shoes. They are as comfortable as Vibram five fingers and you don't get the stares that the five fingers generate.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, runs true to size, breathable, good traction, easy to clean, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Faulty design and/or workmanship

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
After wearing this new shoe for a very short time, the material has worn through on the top of the foot.
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, easy to clean, comfortable, good cushioning, stays clean a long time, breathable
Cons: non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome minimalist shoe

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Louisville, KY
Super light shoe that is very comfortable and forms to foot well. If you like minimalist style running/ training shoes you will probably love these, They do run a little big so if you're between sizes get the smaller one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Liked feel of shoe. Very light weight!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Austin Tx
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Work out in a gym 6 days a week. They feel great. I also have many people comment on how cool the shoes look!
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, breathable, good traction, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Good fit, super light weight, still not as much protection when trail running over sharper rocks.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, breathable
Cons: poor cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Minimal Shoe

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
This is a high quality and durable shoe. I agree with the other reviews recommending that you size down, which I am glad that I did. Excellent purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>