Customer Reviews for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's

An entirely different approach to trail running, the New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 running shoe features a midsole that delivers the benefits of barefoot running with the protection of a lightweight trainer. Inspired by nature. Improved by science. With only a 4mm drop from heel to toe, as little as a third of that of a traditional running shoe, the Minimus collection holds a world of discovery for neutral runners as well as those with gait issues or chronic injury to conquer by learning better form. No-sew upper provides lightweight comfort and support. Deconstructed ACTEVA® midsole offers great flexibility and a featherweight cushion. Minimal Vibram® outsole has been designed for maximum performance with specific zones of use. Non-removable insole. Wt. 5.8 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
1
35 out of 44(80%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Review 1 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!!!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jiri
from Wellington, Florida
very happy with the shoes,thanks Eastbay!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This is a 50/50 shoe

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
TrackmanRoadracer
from Columbia, SC
It doesn't come with insoles(keep that in mind). I recommend if you're doing small running workouts. I do not recommend for all terrain running, it will beat up your calves and feet. After a period of time I don't recommend for road races, once you put a little wear and tear in shoe, keep it simple. Shoe is very light.
I will say this I did take insoles from other running shoes and placed them in these, they lasted awhile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Faulty design and/or workmanship

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
karateka
from Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
After wearing this new shoe for a very short time, the material has worn through on the top of the foot.
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, easy to clean, comfortable, good cushioning, stays clean a long time, breathable
Cons: non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great shoe

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Georgia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
This is my second pair of Trail 2s and I love the shoe for an everyday wear or a pair of gym shoes. They are as comfortable as Vibram five fingers and you don't get the stares that the five fingers generate.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, runs true to size, breathable, good traction, easy to clean, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Liked feel of shoe. Very light weight!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
barrbo
from Austin Tx
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Work out in a gym 6 days a week. They feel great. I also have many people comment on how cool the shoes look!
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, breathable, good traction, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trailrunner22
from Phoenix, AZ
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Good fit, super light weight, still not as much protection when trail running over sharper rocks.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, breathable
Cons: poor cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

light weight, hard wearing

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
tangles
from mackay qld
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
great shoes, can hurt the feet and legs if your new to minimilist running, thats why i bought the 890's for those longer runs. hard wearing, you trash them and then simply throw them in the washing machine and they are good as new! love them, second pair i have bought
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, durable, breathable, good traction, easy to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool kicks!!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
H8serveys
from Downingtown, pa
Awesome sneakers, I really like how lite they are!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

light weight and good looking

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
CuseOrange
from Dallas, Texas
Awesome shoe "very" light weight and very good for running if you like that road feel. Not a lot of cushion but great arch support. The color was even better in person, looks yellow in the picture but is more neon in person, just what I was looking for. All around good shoe I would buy it again. Some say buy a size smaller because they run big, I wear a 9 and ordered a 9, and it was a perfect fit.
Pros: light weight, bright neon color, great arch support
Cons: durability issue over time
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lite and comfortable

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
zig1994
from overseas
great shoe, added innersoles and really comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features.

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
colomer11
from Monterrey, México.
It´s a great product, very confortable.
Pros: confortable, light weight
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great shoe but neon green.

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
BigLou
from San Diego
Nothing wrong with the shoe itself... you do have to go with the size recommendations that EASTBAY suggests... but the shoe isn't yellow... it's like a neon green... if that matters to you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
PHymes
from US Air Force (all over)
I love these shoes!!! They're amazing for training and I can't get enough of them!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

light but still like having a shoe on!

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mansonhusker
from South Dakota
I prefer Five fingers but had to have a shoe for the snow, these are good but you can tell they have a heal!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent light weight shoes

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robbles
from Sydney Australia
Excellent light weight shoes, could do with softer soles however can be fixed with after market infills which I need regardless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not too bad, but not as good as the previous model

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
LilRunner
from Oahu, Hawaii
First I would like to say that I sincerely like my NB Minimus shoes, they are the only minimalist shoe I will wear. However, this shoe in particular was not all I thought it would be. The day i got them, I went for a 10 mile run and when I was done I noticed that the right shoe was already separating at the lateral portion of the shoe where the rubber meets the mesh, as well as at the toe where the rubber meets the mesh. I have since put about 60-70 miles on them without any additional "abnormal" wear and tear. As far as comfort, the interior of the shoe is far more rigid then that of the older NB Trails and the mesh on this shoe is also very rigid. In order for me to break the shoe in and make it a bit more comfortable and less rigid, I had to wash them in the shower about 2-3 times a week for a couple weeks. Now they are not too bad, but I would still prefer the older NB Trails with the "curved" toe.
Pros: sleek look, bright colors for maximum visibility
Cons: less than desirable durability, rigid mesh and insole, less comfortable than previous model
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Minimal Shoe

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
NYCWarPig72
from Minneapolis, MN
This is a high quality and durable shoe. I agree with the other reviews recommending that you size down, which I am glad that I did. Excellent purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the shoe, but best to try it on first...

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Runsabit
from Ventura, CA
For me, buying a half size smaller fit much better, with socks or without.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fabric is too fragile.

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peter66
from Australia
Excellent shoes as far as comfort.
I love being able to feel my feet as I'm running.
The shoes are really light weight.
The downside is that the fabric isn't tough enough for a trail shoe and has tears in it after less than four weeks wear away from trails!
I would also like something sewn into the tongue to use the laces to hold it in place, so it doesn't slide to each side.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
Cons: fragile fabric
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

New Balance 20 Minimus Trail 2

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
VARunner12
from Blacksburg, VA
Light shoe, but does not meet what I expected from the first model.
Pros: light
Cons: not as form fitting as the earlier model
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>