Customer Reviews for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's

The Nike Free 4.0 running shoe features a modified innersleeve construction made of sandwich mesh that provides a dynamic, sock-like fit that hugs the foot, but still allows for easy on and off. Seamless upper with engineered laser-perforated design covers the stretchy mesh innersleeve to provide a supportive, skin-like fit that moves with each stride. Tongue-wrap construction offers comfort and easy on and off. Asymmetrical lacing system is offset to the lateral side of the foot to help reduce pressure over the top ridge of the foot for enhanced comfort. Large, reflective Swoosh design trademark remains visible in low-light conditions. Low-profile, Phylite™ midsole provides a resilient ride and is tough enough to double as an outsole, dramatically reducing the overall weight. Sipes along the length and width of the midsole enhance flexibility and help maintain stability. Transtarsal diagonal cuts through the arch enhance natural motion flexibility and help increase foot strength. Minimalistic, molded sockliner mimics the curvature of the foot to provide a great fit, enhance comfort and add support. Strategically placed BRS 1000™ carbon rubber enhances durability. Pods of solid rubber on the medial toe for durability and traction. Waffle® outsole enhances traction and durability while also encouraging a more neutral and efficient toe-off. Wt. 7.9 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.414 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(251 Reviews) 251
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 251 reviews
5 stars
174
4 stars
42
3 stars
10
2 stars
15
1 star
10
224 out of 251(89%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Review 1 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very comfortable and light

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Goldrage10
from Atlanta, GA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
User submitted photo
Have to say I was skeptical as I had to order size 14 online and hoped they weren't too tight. Perfect fit and light. Almost like barefoot shoes with athletic feel. Going to get another pair and version 5. Impressed. No arch support as they don't need it. Strengthen muscles in foot is what I need.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good service

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Born2live
from Chicago, Il
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
User submitted photo
When I was filling in my account information the order went through but it didn't let me create an account, it said the page had expired I thought my order didn't go through but it did. Overall it was shipped quickly and no damage on my shoes. I would buy again from here
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: feels uncomfortable after run
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Intermediate Free

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
ShelB
from Florida
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shoe is a great intermediate shoe but does have it's flaws. Just like all frees the shoe is slightly narrow and should be tried on by someone with a wider foot before purchase. The shoe is meant to be snug though and will slightly loosen the more you wear them. I recommend wearing true to size or 1/2 size up at most. The shoe is comfortable but not as comfortable as the 5.0 (Free Run +3) or the 3.0 (Free 3.0). This was a shock for me since I expected it to have more cushion than the 3.0 (shoe has 4.0 rated midsole). That being said though the shoe has more strengths than weaknesses. As stated earlier it is a very comfortable shoe, and has enough support for the majority of runners/wearers. The shoe is minimalist and takes getting used to because of the extra work it requires from the wearer so ease into. Styling is nice and the shoe looks very nice with jeans or shorts. I have a couple pair, some I workout in and others I like to wear out. I do recommend them but my preference is the Free 3.0 which is also available on Eastbay.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: slightly narrow, not for wide feet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Looks great, but...

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
DecathFromAus
from Melbourne, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
This shoe is the most stylish, lightweight shoe I've ever owned. However, it is also the least durable shoe I've ever owned. Within 3 months of using these shoes, the top lace holes broke whilst I was tying them up. All four holes within a week of each other. Also, almost two months after first wearing them, the front part of the right shoe with the pattern on it started to fall apart. It seems as though the glue came unstuck. It got so bad I ripped the pattern off the shoe, so it is now just plain mesh. Great feel for running in though, they're one of the most comfy shoes I've owned. Would only recommend to someone that isn't going to run in them a lot (more than 3 or 4 times a week).
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
Cons: non-durable, poorly manufactured
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great shoe

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Freeby
from Fishers, IN
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a great light weight shoe. The only issue was it runs just on the small side. We had to return the shoe for a whole size larger.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dark Grey/Team Orange/Anthracite

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
JordanJunketeer
from akl, nzl
These are the Free 4.0 V2. The images here don't do this colourway justice. In person the Dark Grey/Anthracite is much darker, and the Team Orange more vibrant, which I really like even more compared to what I see on the website. For that I am looking to buy another pair in this very same, eye catching colourway. Aesthetics aside, as a performance walking/running shoe I find these to be outstanding. I run 35km weekly, so having come from Gel-Kayano 18's, in search of less cushioning but more strengthening of my feet/ankles, and these being my first pair of barefoot-ride like Nike Free shoes. Allowing myself to adjust to these, which are very different to walk and run in compared to any shoe I have owned before, I am sold on them. Looking to buy more pairs as both my daily shoes, and running shoes. Very impressed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
BulkupQuick
from Chandler, AZ
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable! Great workout shoe.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice fit, sole has just enough padding

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
pops
from Houston
Wear these about 10 hours a day at work. Very comfortable feet are not tired at all. I have a narrow foot and these don't buckle at the toe like other shoes. Usually wear Brooks but these are great. I've had several bouts with foot issues over the last couple of years, so I'm very picky and demanding on how I think shoes should fit and feel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great running shoes

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Runforfun
from South east USA
These are the first pair of shoes that I've ever ran in that I felt as if I were not wearing any. The comfort and stability of the flexible sole is the only reminder that you are wearing shoes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

after one week shoes are falling apart

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
humming
from Oregon
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I purchased two pair of the same shoe, different sizes for my boys. After a day the toe was fading and the shoes were falling apart around the ankle. For the price you would think they would last at least a few months, these didn't last a few days before they started to fall apart. Not happy with these shoes at all.
Cons: non-durable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing shoe!!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Goob125
from Brisbane, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Awesome shoe. Looks amazing, really comfortable. Very reasonably priced. I tried it one for size in my local sport shop than ordered it here on Eastbay and saved heaps! I went for a run and they got mud all over them then I left them over night and all the mud fell off when I next wore them and they look brand new! One extremely pleased customer!
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, durable, comfortable, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very, very lightweight

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
MikeC
from Indianapolis, IN
These shoes are very lightweight, and very comfortable but do not feel like they will last very long.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
TonyD
from tx
Great show with stability and design. Great for the price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is comfortable but not durable

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
ComeOnNike
from Cedar Rapids, Ia
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
We bought this shoe and have had it for less than 3 months for my son to wear for his primary school shoe. The shoe is comfortable and light weight but the durability of the shoe is poor. The material/mesh part of the shoe is detaching from the sole of the shoe.
Pros: comfortable
Cons: non-durable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable light runner w/glove-like fit

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
mooksT
from Arizona
I have had these Free 4's for a couple of weeks now, and the summary of my experience is as follows:
+Very comfortable to wear around or run in
+very light weight
+Black/grey combo looks great & is low key.
+The fit in the boot is different than the Free 3+ pair I own, this is much snugger but I think it's supposed to hug your foot like a glove. Your regular size might feel too tight, and they're slightly more narrow than other Nikes. The 3+ is much roomier.
+I feel like my foot runs hotter in these than my 3+, but I wear socks. Might be different barefoot.
+The tongue is connected to the boot on one side but not the other. I wish they would have made both sides connected or loose (like a regular shoe). It's annoying when slipping them on to have to tuck the one loose side back down.
+as other have pointed out, small rocks/pebbles get stuck in the outsole easily. That's annoying, but worth the tradeoff in comfort and weight.
I would have given 5 stars if I had been blown away by some element of the shoe, but I wasn't. With that said, overall this is a great and solid minimalist shoe.I will be wearing them on an upcoming trip to France, and I think my feet will thank me profusely for this purchase.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning
Cons: runs small, not breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe, awesome color!

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
BGask16
from Corona,CA
Super lightweight and comfy shoe. The color is even better in person! Just be aware that it is bright, but I love them! Would highly recommend for anyone looking for a new workout, or even causal shoe.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These shoes are so light and I love the colors

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
WillieHawk63
from Seattle Washinton
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Sweet shoes light comforterble right color I will wear them with my new Percy Harvin jersey. Thanks Go Hawks
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
ToryT
from Jax, FL
Recently started running, these shoes are extremely light and comfortable. Enough padding on bottom and fits snug around ankle. Will buy again when these are worn out.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
MonacoBall
from Melbourne, australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This runner is a snug sock like fit and is the lightest runner I have ever owned. I would strongly recommend the product and comfort and colour is up to and exceeds the standard I expected.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Free Run 4.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light and comfortable

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Les69
from Delavan WI
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
These are easily the most comfortable running
Shoes I have ever owned. Like bedroom slippers
Yet great support and feel while running. Also great looking
For casual wear with jeans.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>