Customer Reviews for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's

The Nike Free Trainer 5.0 training shoe features a no-sew upper construction with adaptive fit technology that provides dynamic lockdown. Dual-density midsole and Nike Free flex grooves offer a barefoot training experience. Midfoot wrap-up delivers additional lateral support. Delta nodes traction pattern gives ultimate grip on multiple surfaces. DiamondFlex design aids multI directional movement. Removable insole. Wt. 10.6 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.129 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
5 stars
65
4 stars
29
3 stars
2
2 stars
12
1 star
8
95 out of 116(82%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Review 1 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Low profile trainer with support AND cushioning

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from DFW, TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
There has been a recent trend toward "barefoot" style trainers, but I think they lack the cushioning needed for running and jumping. The Nike Free Trainer 5.0 hits all of the essentials for cross-training without compromising in any one area. With the Nike Free Trainer 5.0 you can run sprints and longer distances, lift weights, do lateral agility training, and make repeated plyometric jumps. The shoe is lightweight and stays cool. I had been wearing the awesome Nike TR2 for several years, but this Trainer 5.0 finally tops it with better arch support and much greater grip. It's also has a great style that's not just for the gym. I'll be wearing the Nike Free Trainer 5.0 for years to come.
Pros: good traction, high performance, lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shoe, but narrow....

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Little Rock, AR
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Just like all the other reviews say, this shoe is narrow. I'm somebody with a narrow foot and I can squeeze into anything, so I didn't care if people said it was narrow, but I was surprised that it fit so tight around my narrow foot. Beware. On the other side of the coin, the narrowness of the shoe allows you to cut really well so this shoe was designed by Nike to be a true training shoe rather than a casual shoe. For working out, running, cross-training and anything else that requires agility, this shoe is awesome and you'll be bouncing around like a speedster. For casual wear, they aren't that comfortable because of the narrowness. I haven't broke them totally in yet though. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was due to how tight these fit, but as far as looks and for ahtletic training, these are 5 star. I fully recommend this shoe for somebody that's going to do ahtletic movements in them.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, high performance, good arch support, durable, good cushioning, good for cutting
Cons: uncomfortable, narrow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very uncomfortable

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from missouri
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I bought these for crossfit and the material that the upper is made out of creases when you bend your foot . It is very hard and sharp . The shoe looks cool but the rubber like upper is a disaster . They stopped making these for a reason .
I have a different pair of free5.0 's and they are great . Cant win them all I guess.
Pros: durable
Cons: uncomfortable, poor performance
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Superstar!!!

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Perth, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
The shoe felt great the moment I tried it on. Perfect for what I do and the shape of my feet. Before ordering I had tried on another Nike pair to make sure the size was perfect. This shoe needs to fit your feet snug otherwise you'll be sorry.
The outer heel design is great and has a noticeable 'support' feel when walking. The outer material is easy to clean. It's light. It allows your feet to breathe up the tip of the shoe (can sometimes feel the refreshing air while running). Laces are not too long and are quality. Overall support for my feet feels great however, I felt there to be too much room up the front of the shoe when walking. Kinda felt like I could move my toes around. Traction not very good on slippery wet surfaces (wet tiles).
Great shoes to wear casually as well. Love them.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: poor traction
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet looks, lightweight , worth the money

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Indiana
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fantastic looking shoe, lightweight. 50 year old male using for cross training. I run, stairclimb, bike and weightlift using these. Very stable with great support, lightweight. Its the freshest looking shoe in my gym !
Pros: good traction, high performance, lightweight, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This shoe is very lightweight

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lawton, OK
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
The shoe looks even better then it did on the website. Lightweight. Just a very great pair of shoes.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe....excellent comfort.

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Albuquerque, NM
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Total comfort when running.
Pros: high performance, lightweight, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

they are a little tight

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from boston
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
a little tight but i like them
Pros: good traction, high performance, lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: a little tight arount the instep
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nike Free Trainer 5.0

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I searched all over for the perfect training shoe. I needed something that could stand up to a run, lifting weights. swinging a kettlebell, jumping rope and etc. I originally saw the Free Trainer 5.0's in a local sporting good store. But they had limited selection and didn't carry a size 15. I shot in the dark and ordered them anyway. I'm totally glad that I did. They are exactly what I was looking for in a training shoe. Well constructed, light weight and are the perfect fit. I like them so much that I'm going to order another pair in all black. I most definitely recommend the shoe for any one doing CrossFit or weight lifting. They are flexible and keep your feet firmly planted on the ground when doing dead lifts or squats.
Pros: good traction, high performance, lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: round strings have to be tied up several times
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Narrow fit makes for an uncomfortable shoe

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Depending on your foot shape, I can definitely see why the reviews on this product are so mixed. It's my fourth pair of Nike Free branded training shoes, and unlike the first three it is incredibly uncomfortable for me.
The Nike Free 5.0 Trainer retains the flexible bottoms and lightweight features of its predecessors, but comes in a narrower fit. The sides of the shoes were stiff and rubbed into my ankles while also squeezing my toes, even though there was plenty of space in the front. Adjusting the laces didn't help. Unlike other Nike Free trainers which also fit tightly like a glove, these were just too narrow.
Overall, I can't recommend these shoes for me.
Pros: lightweight
Cons: uncomfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too tight even for medium feet

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Washington, D.C.
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
The biggest problem I've faced and I can almost predict the majority of people will face (I'm a medium width male size 10; pretty average) is the extreme tightness around the throat line and toe cap (basically the area of above and around the ball of the foot). It feels like i have rock climbing shoes on before lacing and after lacing it feels like I've put on toddler shoes. My toes have a lot of room to wiggle around in so it's not a smaller fit. The width of this shoe is extremely narrow. Do not make the mistake I made and trust the reviews. Test these out before you decide to keep them.
Pros: good traction, breathable
Cons: runs narrow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoes!

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
These trainers are the most stable Nike Free shoes I've tried, and yet they still feel amazingly comfortable when using them. A warning though: don't use these shoes for participating in sports like basketball or European handball, as the sole rips apart after using them for repetitive side-to-side movement on hard surfaces. Apart from that, they are incredibly durable for 'training', i.e. running, gym work, cross-training etc., and the upper stays intact, unlike many other Nike shoes.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great running shoe

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Maryville, TN
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I bought this shoe to use for running/weight training and also I play many sports in them. I've used these shoes nonstop for about 8months and the grip on the bottom is totally gone in some high contact places and while playing racquetball in these one of the triangular chunks on the bottom of the shoe just fell out... The shoes have great traction to start out with but it is losing it. Extremely lightweight and flexible. Still a great shoes but I'd stick to running and training in it, doesn't hold up great on a court.
Pros: lightweight, high performance, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Super Stylish, but Very Narrow Construction

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
When I opened the box, it was like Christmas morning!! The shoes are amazing...to look at. I put them on, and immediately felt the life being choked out of my foot. The laces have a funky weaving that puts fails to distribute pressure evenly across the top of the foot, and the shoes are extrememly narrow for what Nike usually puts out. I tried to work out in the shoes, but they were way to uncomfortable. Sending them back, unfortunately.
Pros: lightweight, breathable
Cons: runs narrow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best trainer I've ever worn

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Washington, DC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
They were a bit snug at first (size 14) AND felt like they were pronating my feet, however once I wore them.. wow. Best trainers I've ever owned. Again, they have a really tight fit at first but ultimately, they're very sturdy, stable, and light weight. Great shoe that I highly recommend for the gym and cardio machines. Haven't run in them yet or done anything agility-related, but I'm going to give it a go soon.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, high performance, runs true to size, good arch support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still great after all the years

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been training in this style shoe since it came out. I continually buy this shoe and the subtle tweaks I think are great. The outer stabilizer are not as large on the new model and the toe box has a little more room. Only thing is the color, I thought bright crimson was bright red which is what the sole color is, but the laces were just awful and I swapped the out.
Pros: good traction, high performance, lightweight, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great support, with the toughness of a high-end cr

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
This shoe blow my mind! It looks great but what really surprised me was how light it was on your feet yet insanely supportive! I find this shoe keeps my foot in a really balanced position whether im running, squatting or even just wearing it as a day to day casual shoe. I'm a massive fan and will definitely buy this exact shoe again!
Pros: good traction, high performance, lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome shoes

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Though I have some initial issues with the order, the customer service has been a great help and sorts things out very quickly.. I read other reviews before I placed my order, and I took the suggestion to buy one size larger than my normal size. The reviewer was right, the shoe fits very comfortably. Thank you for the reviews and thank you eastbay for the outstanding service.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, good arch support, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not for everyone

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is definitely a shoe you need to "thoroughly" try on.
I ordered the black/grey/black and I think it looks awesome.
I ordered 1 full size higher than my regular shoe size.
My right foot felt awesome, but left foot has the feeling of the top seam compressing down on my foot. Sadly I returned for this reason. (My left foot is every so slightly larger than my right.)
Pros: lightweight
Cons: uncomfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This shoe is a chick magnet

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
I waited all week for this baby to come in the mail and when it finally did I wore those bad boys to school the next day.
They are very comfortable and stylish, there is ONE BAD thing about these shoes and that is; when you don't tie the laces tight, your 4th toe can start to blister
Pros: good traction, lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: runs narrow, poor arch support, runs small, non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>