Customer Reviews for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's

The Nike Free Trainer 5.0 training shoe features a no-sew upper construction with adaptive fit technology that provides dynamic lockdown. Dual-density midsole and Nike Free flex grooves offer a barefoot training experience. Midfoot wrap-up delivers additional lateral support. Delta nodes traction pattern gives ultimate grip on multiple surfaces. DiamondFlex design aids multI directional movement. Removable insole. Wt. 10.6 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.129 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
5 stars
65
4 stars
29
3 stars
2
2 stars
12
1 star
8
95 out of 116(82%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Review 1 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoes!

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
DecathFromAus
from Melbourne, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
These trainers are the most stable Nike Free shoes I've tried, and yet they still feel amazingly comfortable when using them. A warning though: don't use these shoes for participating in sports like basketball or European handball, as the sole rips apart after using them for repetitive side-to-side movement on hard surfaces. Apart from that, they are incredibly durable for 'training', i.e. running, gym work, cross-training etc., and the upper stays intact, unlike many other Nike shoes.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very uncomfortable

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
honch
from missouri
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I bought these for crossfit and the material that the upper is made out of creases when you bend your foot . It is very hard and sharp . The shoe looks cool but the rubber like upper is a disaster . They stopped making these for a reason .
I have a different pair of free5.0 's and they are great . Cant win them all I guess.
Pros: durable
Cons: uncomfortable, poor performance
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoes!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Newfieknifer
from Embrun, ON Canada
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I had ordered this a size to big for my son but the exchange was quick and he loves the sneakers!!!
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: poor arch support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

my son enjoys the shoes

PostedJune 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
biggershoes
from iowa
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
these shoes work great for my active 16 year old son
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very comfortable

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
22drew
from florida
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
one of the best shoes I've owned
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
TDSPEEDY
from Greenville, SC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I wear a size 17... these shoes fit well and hold up well. Some shoes this large want to tear around the ball of my feet. These aren't showing any sign of that happening.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: poor arch support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good look, somewhat uncomfortable

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Baller82456
from Saint Louis, MO
Good look, somewhat uncomfortable
Pros: good traction, lightweight, runs true to size, breathable
Cons: uncomfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great shoe!! highly recommend them!!

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
stringbean988
from australia
great shoe!! highly recommend them!! not great for long runs
Pros: good traction, lightweight, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
drumboy
from Spangdahlem AB< Germany
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Feel good went runnig, and cool design.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This shoe is a chick magnet

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
NATETOR
from Las Vegas, NV
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
I waited all week for this baby to come in the mail and when it finally did I wore those bad boys to school the next day.
They are very comfortable and stylish, there is ONE BAD thing about these shoes and that is; when you don't tie the laces tight, your 4th toe can start to blister
Pros: good traction, lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: runs narrow, poor arch support, runs small, non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5stars.

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
WVtransplant
from Charleston, WV
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Quality product @ a good price, EASTBAY makes name brand products affordable with sales...
Pros: good traction, lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning
Cons: non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This shoe is very lightweight

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenbigb
from Lawton, OK
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
The shoe looks even better then it did on the website. Lightweight. Just a very great pair of shoes.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product does not look as good in person

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
boysx3
from Bourbonnais, IL
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
The colors are reversed in this shoe (darker blue tones are in front and lighter tones in back). It does not match what was shown in catalog or online.
Cons: runs large, not as shown
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
diamonddog
from Saratoga, NY
Great shoe for the price. Lightweight and durable.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, durable, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best trainer I've ever worn

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
rdot
from Washington, DC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
They were a bit snug at first (size 14) AND felt like they were pronating my feet, however once I wore them.. wow. Best trainers I've ever owned. Again, they have a really tight fit at first but ultimately, they're very sturdy, stable, and light weight. Great shoe that I highly recommend for the gym and cardio machines. Haven't run in them yet or done anything agility-related, but I'm going to give it a go soon.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, high performance, runs true to size, good arch support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great price for what you get.

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bobcatcoach
from Braymer, MO
It took a little while to loosen them up. But once they did they are very comfortable and great to run in.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, runs true to size, good cushioning
Cons: poor arch support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too tight even for medium feet

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
TJMcP
from Washington, D.C.
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
The biggest problem I've faced and I can almost predict the majority of people will face (I'm a medium width male size 10; pretty average) is the extreme tightness around the throat line and toe cap (basically the area of above and around the ball of the foot). It feels like i have rock climbing shoes on before lacing and after lacing it feels like I've put on toddler shoes. My toes have a lot of room to wiggle around in so it's not a smaller fit. The width of this shoe is extremely narrow. Do not make the mistake I made and trust the reviews. Test these out before you decide to keep them.
Pros: good traction, breathable
Cons: runs narrow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great support, with the toughness of a high-end cr

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
BJ1981
from Sydney, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
This shoe blow my mind! It looks great but what really surprised me was how light it was on your feet yet insanely supportive! I find this shoe keeps my foot in a really balanced position whether im running, squatting or even just wearing it as a day to day casual shoe. I'm a massive fan and will definitely buy this exact shoe again!
Pros: good traction, high performance, lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Super Stylish, but Very Narrow Construction

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
RT80
from Wisconsin
When I opened the box, it was like Christmas morning!! The shoes are amazing...to look at. I put them on, and immediately felt the life being choked out of my foot. The laces have a funky weaving that puts fails to distribute pressure evenly across the top of the foot, and the shoes are extrememly narrow for what Nike usually puts out. I tried to work out in the shoes, but they were way to uncomfortable. Sending them back, unfortunately.
Pros: lightweight, breathable
Cons: runs narrow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Lightweight fit

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
CAM145ia
from Concord, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Like the box says - order a size bigger because the fit is narrow. I wear a size 16 shoe and ordered these in 17 and they fit perfectly. Nike comes up big finally for a nice pair of big shoes.
Pros: high performance, lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>