Customer Reviews for New Balance 2040 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

New Balance 2040 - Men's

Nothing compares to the sound of American craftsmanship hitting the pavement. New Balance 2040 premier heritage running shoe offers the ultimate in performance, comfort and fit. Suede, leather and synthetic upper with dual-density collar foam and reflectivity. ENCAP® core of soft cushioning EVA in the midsole with a tough polyurethane rim provides more support and durability. REVlite offers a lightweight ride without minimizing construction or sacrificing underfoot cushioning or stability. NDurance® outsole with blown rubber forefoot. Removable insole. Wt. 14.6 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for New Balance 2040 - Men's
Review 1 for New Balance 2040 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice shoe but there are some drawbacks

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
NewB1
from Orland Park, IL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
If you are looking for ultimate comfort this is the shoe for you. This shoe is very comfortable however it feels very heavy. I've never ran in a shoe with this much cushion. These shoes are expensive but I am still breaking them in. If you are planning on running long distance runs at a slower pace or if you have hip/knee problems I would recommend this shoe. If you want to do speed workouts or shorter runs at a faster pace these shoes will slow you down. They also feel like wearing high heels due to the high arch support. When running up hills my calf's and hamstrings were really burning due to the weight of the shoe. This isn't a bad thing since I will be bulking up my calfs and hamstrings. But I am sure that these shoes will last a long time due to the high quality craftsmanship. Their hasn't been that many reviews on this shoe due to it's cost but I can honestly say that for long distance runners or for those who have knee/hip problems I strongly recommend this shoe.
Pros: good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning
Cons: too heavy
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Balance 2040 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
malenurse
from cincinnati,oh
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
A very sturdy shoe. A very solid sole--not at all spongey. I work in a hospital and walk continuously...there is no give to the sole and it almost has the feel of a "coated" dansko. The mesh outer shell provides a lot of breathing for your foot to stay cool
Pros: good arch support, durable, comfortable, breathable
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Balance 2040 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent ;

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Thomas22
from Lawrenceville, N.J.
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
A must for Runner's or Walker's that would like to exersize without
re-injuring your knee's or hip's .
Pros: good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance 2040 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good arch support, soles are a little stiff

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jason
from Taiwan
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Material used on these shoes is excellent. Very good arch support, my legs won't get tired easily when running. Soles are stiffer than my 990s, personally I think 2040 is just in the stiffer side of running shoe soles. Overall very well made and comfortable shoes.
Pros: good arch support, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Balance 2040 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome running sneaker!

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mermaltim
from Dunwoody, Ga
Best running shoes I've owned in years!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Balance 2040 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Give me two

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cool
from Baltimore, Md
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I like the NB2040 so much, I bought two pair. One for working out and running, the other for casual wear. Worth every dollar, but the only the dark grey; I'm not feeling that white sole on the black ones.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable, versatile
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for New Balance 2040 - Men's
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2 out of 3 recommend this product