Customer Reviews for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's

The adidas adiPure Barefoot Trainer training shoe features a second skin upper with a sock-like fit. Restriction free movement from your heel to your toes allows muscles to move more naturally and strengthens feet and legs. OrthoLite sockliner provides long lasting cushion with antimicrobial protection and moisture management. Flexible, non-marking rubber outsole adds traction and durability. Flex groves in the toes offer increased flexibility. Wt. 5.2 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.365 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
5 stars
52
4 stars
25
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
78 out of 85(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Review 1 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product!

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Brazil
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
A little tight in my fingers, but fits very nice and comfortable. I was worried about the seams hurts me, but its like seamless. Very good product. I recommend!
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT for flat footed people

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am writing this as a flat footed person who literally has no arch to my foot at all. Which means my entire bare foot touches the ground, and this shoe has a veryyyyy narrow middle sole. Which causes a very bad fit, this shoe is only designed for arched feet and I was very disappointed once I tried them on. Also if your spacing between your big toe and the next toe are far apart, this shoe is NOT for you, also if your toe next to your big toe is longer this shoe is NOT for you. I heard so many good things about this shoe, but for my foot type I was very disappointed. I bought them for my weight training and for more contractions during my leg workouts but I guess it wasnt meant to be. I am only rating this a 1 because the shoe is not universal at all ! Back to Nike Lunar Glide for me, best shoe ever.
Pros: lightweight, breathable
Cons: uncomfortable, not for flat feet
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Barefoot Trainer

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I have the Vibram KSO, Vibram Sprint, Fila Skela-toes 2.0 and the Fila Skela-toes Voltage. But by far, This shoe is the best. Traditional barefoot runners may disagree, because there is a tad more padding, (not too much). But for the gym, working out. Doing squats, plyometrics, etc. I believe this shoe is the best. It fits like an expensive glove. No straps, velcro. glue...nothing. It's Adidas minimalist shoe and they put their time and research in bringing a quality product to market. Especially for this 13 year professional Athlete.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, high performance, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable, quality materials, snug fit
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wish there were half sizes

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, Tx
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Do not go by your 1st impression when trying on these shoes. Mine was that these are uncomfortable. I think my little toes were screaming the 1st day I wore them. I actually wear a size 12.5 but I had to settle for a 12. The shoe fits all of my toes perfect but when it comes to my pinky toes that is where it was tight and I was wishing for my 12.5 size. I wore them for about 3 hours the first day and then I had to take them off.
The second day I wore them doing some yoga and I guess the material strecthed a little bit or my toes started to get use to being spread out.
The 3rd day I said I am really going to test these out by doing one of my Insanity workout videos which is a high intensity, lots of plyometrics type of workout, and they felt good. I was worried because I cannot do this workout in any shoe except Reebok zigtech's because they have a lot of cushion and support.
But these Adipure trainers give you just the right amount of cushion to protect your feet but not so much where you do not lose too much barefoot feeling. When jumping they teach you how to land on the balls of your feet that way you don't destroy your arches and have good arch support.
I would advise when you put these shoes on do not shove your foot so far to the front of the shoe to where you are trying to get your toes to the top of shoe. Puts too much pressure on that pinky toe.
And wear them in the house for a couple of days before you decide you are going to return them.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, high performance, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: maybe tight on the little toes
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from ohio
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
This shoe fits true to size like a glove. I get good traction and stability with workouts. Like other reviews need to break in to feet to get use to. Only thing is I like to wear socks for a workout-cant do that with these.
Pros: lightweight, breathable, good traction, good arch support, comfortable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent show for training in the gym

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Excellent shoe for training in the gym, I have tried other five finger shoes and this is the only one that makes me feel like im bare foot but still provides enough support when doing things plyo jumps. First time you ware them they are a bit tight but after that they feel great. Your feet to sweet more in this shoe then other five finger shoes. I have also ran outside on concreate and had no issues.
Pros: good traction, high performance, lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding product- I wear them everyday.

PostedApril 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This shoe is so versatile. I wear them to work out in, doing everything from walking, elliptical machines to recumbent bikes and weightlifting. They are very comfortable and my feet feel so refreshed after my workout is over and I put on my normal New Balance shoes to wear the rest of the day.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, good arch support, comfortable, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like the shoe

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Kennewick, WA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Very nice shoe. They are kind of like water socks. They have a nice snug fit. I have narrow feet so I reviewed them as slightly wide but may be fine or a little narrow from someone with average size feet.
Take a while to get used to but once that happens they feel great on.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: poor arch support
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is very good

PostedApril 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I am not a runner , but I have been able to complete my training/running goals with ease since I started wearing these shoes.I will be interested in the next model as the only problem is the pinky toe does not fit well in these and may take some getting use to.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: pinky toe area is uncomfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow awesome shoes

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New Zealand
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
It is a little tricky to get your toes in the right place and they feel a little strange at first, but one you got them on they feel awesome.
They are my favorite shoes. I just went for a little jog and they feel great.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, high performance, durable, comfortable, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good stuff

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu Hawaii. On the beach
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I use it for stand-up paddling it's excellant they just enough support with enough flex in the toes to balance on the board when catching waves and you need the toes for gripping the board.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is WACK

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Waldorf
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Unless you have spider man like flexible toes AVOID this product like the plague. Probably the most uncomfortable shoe I've ever warn. I on the FILA version which doesn't spread all five toes which feels muuucchh better.
Cons: uncomfortable
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for workouts but...

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Palm Harbor, FL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I use these for my 30 - 45 min UFC workouts 5 - 6 days per week. You're feet WILL get really sweaty in these. Not a lot of breatheability. I ended up getting several pair so that I could rotate them with my daily workoutsand give the others a chance to air out. Otherwise they're great. Haven't actually used to run though. Don't seem like they'd give much support on hard terrain.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, durable, comfortable
Cons: not breathable, poor cushioning
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe for everyday wear

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New South Wales, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I purchased the Adidas Adipure Barefoot trainers after seeing the pair my cousin received for Christmas. I find the shoes very comfortable and although they are designed for running/training, i use them as an everyday shoe.
As far as I know, Adidas do not sell the barefoot range in Australia, however, thanks to Eastbay's international delivery, I received my shoes only 5 days after i'd placed the order!
A word of caution, the shoes do take a little while to get used to. I wore them around the house for a few days before wearing out.
Wearing the Adipures as an everyday shoe also works as a great conversation starter!
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
Cons: not breathable, feet need to adjust
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great barefoot shoes

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Previous to this I have worn the Vibram five fingers, which is also a great shoe. The difference I've found between the two is that the adipure offer just that little bit more protection between the ground and your foot without compromising to feel of a barefoot shoe. I still love the five fingers but have found the adipure is much better for hard, uneven surfaces like the road. Great shoe and I can't speak more highly of it. I've also tried the fila version, which is horrible and feels like it has a hard rod running the length of the shoe. Definately a fan of the adipure, a must have!!
Pros: lightweight, durable, breathable, good traction, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They are very good if you do a lot of running

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Miami,Florida
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
At first they were very hard to put on took me like a hour, but after i got them on my feet started to hurt which is typical for new shoes.I put them on everyday and my feet started to loosen up and adjust to them. I workout in them everyday morning and night. The good thing about is that they are true to there word. I feel a big difference when working out compared to when i have regular shoes on. My legs get more of a workout when I wear these, and i highly recommend it to those who workout and like to run.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
Cons: not enough material
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for indoor training

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Brisbane, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I found these a bit unusual to put on at first (never worn these sorts of shoes before) but rather quickly got used to it. Having trialled them for a few different types of workouts (weights, agility, general cardio, etc) I have to say that they do exactly what I wanted from them. I wanted something that I could wear while working out the legs particularly during squats, dead lifts, etc to target the stabilisers in the legs and they did just that. Note that they are not particularly good on grass (too slippy)
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable, did exactly what i expected of them
Cons: takes a minute or two to get used to
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Qatar
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Had heard a lot about this style of shoe. Many "not so good" stories and a few success ones. As for me, I have found that it is a VERY comfortable shoe that's great for working out or just as a semi-casual shoe. The first day or two took a little getting adjusted to the feel and "restrictiveness". I found that putting a little baby powder inside helped to ease my foot in the newness of it. I would def purchase another pair.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedMay 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Queensland, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
good comfortable shoe, would perhaps recommend socks as well because they can get smelly fairly quickly however i believe they can be washed.
have only walked and trained in them so thats as far as i'm recommending them, as running would impose more demand.
only negative is that i thought they were yellow in colour, in fact they are green/light green. also be patient putting them on!
Pros: good traction, comfortable
Cons: colour is deceiving
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for adidas adipure Barefoot Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gym shoe!

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Adelaide, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ordered the shoe in the same size of my Asics GT Runners. They fit really well and perform exactly as I wanted them to in the gym. I've got a standard normal width.
When doing dynamic lunges etc the heel stays in and I've never felt they were going to pop out.
The base has great support. Time will tell on wear and tear but they seem to be holding up well after 6 weeks of heavy use.
Pros: high performance, lightweight, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>