Customer Reviews for Merrell Sonic Glove - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

Merrell Sonic Glove - Men's

The Merrell Sonic Glove barefoot running shoe features a textile upper with the Merrell Omni-Fit lacing system that provides a precise, glove-like fit. Microfiber footbed treated with Aegis antimicrobial solution resists odor. CMEVA midsole cushions. Forefoot shock absorption plate maintains forefoot flexibility and protects the foot by distributing pressure. Vibram® Trail Glove sole/rubber compound. Wt. 6.5 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Merrell Sonic Glove - Men's
Review 1 for Merrell Sonic Glove - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shellfletch
from Australia
I bought these shoes for my hubby. Found the sizing to be smaller than usual and had to send his usual size back and re order half size bigger. Other than that, I know he's very pleased with them.
Pros: great price
Cons: runs small in size
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merrell Sonic Glove - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
MandyDancer
from Perth Australia
I still have not got them :(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merrell Sonic Glove - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Color.

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
DutchmanFranchise
from Michigan
The color appears to be blue but is really teal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merrell Sonic Glove - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just a simple, great shoe

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
MTinME
from portland, Maine
This is the first "barefoot" shoe that I have purchased, so I don't have anything to compare these to. I did research this purchase before I bought them, and am very happy I chose the Merrell Brand. I have run in them the past week and they just keep feeling better and better. The toe box is a bit rigid, and took a little getting used to, but I love the feel of them. Definitely heed the advice of starting low miles before building back to what you normally run. I ran 3.5 miles out of the box and my calves paid dearly. I would recommend this shoe to anyone. Very solid product.
Pros: construction, weight, true feel, colors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merrell Sonic Glove - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best of the barefoot style

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
toughtrails
from catskill mountains , NY
there's no best shoe for everyone. it totally depends on your foot, but for me, the trail glove and sonic glove, are the best I've tried. the only problem I've had is the same condition I've heard from other advocates; which is, the rub on the achilles. I like going barefoot, and the trail glove never caused this issue, but the sonic glove did. an easy problem to solve with some tape (or a pair of socks), the performance is hard to beat. I whole heartedly recomend these shoes!
Pros: light, stylish, they are born to run
Cons: hard rubber sole lasts but not grippy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merrell Sonic Glove - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1st Time Barefooter

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Worldly
from Eastern, IA
I have not run in 3 years, but wanted to get started w/ a minimal shoe. I have run a total of 5 miles in these shoes and can say I am impressed. I love that they are lightweight, fit snugly w/o socks, allow me to run on my toes or heels and they are constructed well. One warning if you have not run in a minimalist shoe is to not overdo it on the first few runs. I did and my calves paid for it for days.
I love being connected to the ground and strenghtening my feet at the same time. Purchased my normal shoe size and would recommend others do the same.
Pros: lightweight, well constructed, waterproof, fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merrell Sonic Glove - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great replacement for Nike Free 3.0

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
ClydesdaleRunner
from Mid Iowa
First time trying out the Sonic Glove and after 50miles, I love them! I have worn Nike Free 3's for years, but when Nike make the 3.0 v3, the fit changed and I no longer could get comfortable in them. I bought the SG's hoping for a sturdy, yet minimal outdoor shoe and it is! The size is same and fit is perfect as compared to the Nike Free 3.0 v1 and V2.
1st run was outside on a paved trail and no issues. Then ran on a horse trail and they performed great! Lastly, I put them through a few treadmill workouts. I was worried that since they were 'rugged' that they won't do well inside, but once again they were great!
I have found new marathon shoe!
Thanks Merrell for a wonderful shoe and please do not discontinue it or change it over the next year!
Pros: fit, durability, zero heel drop, price
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merrell Sonic Glove - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic all-weather minimalist shoe

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
kmag1980
from Boston, MA
I own this shoe with and without gore-tex. both are awesome! Great protection from the elements, good toe-box, and definitely minimalist.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.