Customer Reviews for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's

The Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 is for the cross country runner who seeks a versatile, spikeless racing shoe that delivers superior performance. Upper features a 3D puff screen execution that offers a lightweight, seamless fit and targeted support. Dynamic, internal arch bandage adds midfoot lockdown. Compression-molded Flashlon midsole delivers a lightweight, responsive ride. A molded medial arch provides optimal midfoot support, without unnecessary weight. Classic Waffle® outsole with six durable rubber lugs and targeted flex grooves gives optimal traction over a variety of surfaces. Wt. 6.2 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
3.89 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 73 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
9
1 star
5
58 out of 73(79%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Review 1 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I HAVE RAN IN THE SHOES THREE TIMES AND THE TOP O

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'M NOT SURE IF THIS HAPPENS WITH ALL OF THESE TRAIL/TRACK SHOES BUT IT IS HAPPENING WITH THIS PAIR. THE SOLE IS BEGINNING TO SEPERATE FROM THE TOP OF THE SHOE AFTER RUNNING IN THE TRAILS ON THREE SEPERATE OCCASIONS. I WILL BE CONTACTING EASTBAY TO RETURN THE SHOES. mY WIFE THREW AWAY THE RETURN INFORMATION BUT I DID RETAIN THE BOX. I WILL CONTINUE TO WEAR NIKE PRODUCTS BUT I NEED TO GET THIS ISSUES RESOLVED QUICKLY.
Pros: lightweight, breathable
Cons: seperating from sole after minimal use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For XC Spikeless racing it is excellent.

PostedJune 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Wet PNW
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For its purpose (XC) it is a good shoe. I tried them out for the first time with a 6+ hour all dirt/rock/wet and continuous elevation +- trail run without socks. There was no discomfort at all. I always test my shoes with a long run without socks. The sole is very firm with a good grip and with a minimum of cushioning. It is my first shoe with arch support which I found strange. I will use them on trail racing up to approx 4 hours. For longer distances and for wet boulders see my Mayfly review. I do not reccomend them for bitumen road training or racing. Buy them at least a halff size larger than other running shoes
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A Step Backwards

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from florida
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I coach cross county for middle schoolers and have always recommended this and the Jana Waffle to my kids due to its high value to performance value. I purchase them myself as my practice shoe. The new version is not near as good of shoe as the old. While I like them from a fashion standpoint (although the kids prefered the ones two generations back), Nike stiffened the midsole considerably to the point that some of my runners were fighting form problems due to a changed landing position. This shoe actually has a hinge point in the junction between the toe box and the midsole rather than a gradual bend to the heel. They also increased the surface area for the sole which makes it feel more clunky than the previous generatations. The runners that purchased this model are searching the internet looking for older generations that fit. It might be two steps back
Cons: just doesn't match up to previous generations
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The most comfortable running shoes

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These shoes work on any surface. They are very comfortable, durable, lightweight and fashionable.
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic shoe

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Sydney Australia
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
The shoe is lightweight and comfortable. I am using it for all track and field events.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

You get what you pay for...

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Boston
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I recently bought these for a Spartan race. Based on feedback from others that these ran small, I brought them half a size larger (12.5 instead of 12). However they were still small and I should have bought a full size larger (13). My big toe was snug and felt like it was going to bust through. They are also very tight around the sides. During my race, they performed well running up/down muddy hills, through mud, but the studded bottom made it difficult to traverse walls, walk the balance beam etc. Also they don't protect from water, and seem to soak it up rather than releasing it.
You can't beat the price, and I think they would be good on dry trail runs (with 1 size larger). However not suitable for running through water or muck, or flat slippery surfaces.
I'm gonna spend the money and buy a pair of Inov-8's.
Pros: lightweight, great price
Cons: uncomfortable, not breathable, non-durable, runs small
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is a must own

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Albuquerque, NM
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
These shoes definitely live up to the hype that i have heard. They are everything I would want in a racing shoe at a great price! However they come a little small so i would suggest getting a size or size and a half bigger.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable, stylish
Cons: small
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good alternative to a shoe with a spike plate

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from richmond, va
I purchased this product for:other family/friend
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very good alternative to a shoe with a spike plate -- for the track or cross-country with less pressure point pain than a spike.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoes!

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Australia
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I bought theses shoes for both my sons,both said they are super comfortable.and the colors are cool as well!
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great racing shoe

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
This shoe looks as fast as it is. Great sneaker so nice I bought 3 more pairs in different colors.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
Cons: non-durable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent.

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Miramar, Fl.
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
The first run I did with these shoes was 8 miles through Oleta Park mountain bike trails for Spartan race training. I found them to be extremely light even after going through water. They gave me incredible confidence in the switch backs, hill climbs and decents, offered no foot roll in the boot through the switch backs. I felt like part of the terrain in these shoes. Great traction and feel.overall I am extremely happy with them and am looking forward to testing their strength and resistance through the rocks and roots of the trails.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Is this a women's shoe branded as a men's shoe?

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
That was my first reaction when I opened the box. I am a size 10.5 to 11 depending on brand, but this shoe sets a new standard for undersized. I ordered an 11 and not only is it about half a size short, it seems to be about 4 sizes too narrow. The arch is so inset that my normal-sized foot hangs over the side of the sole and is entirely unstable.
I am returning them for an exchange for the Waffle Racer 9's in size 11.5 in the hopes that the lack of complaints about them being narrow means they have fixed this issue in the 9's.
Pros: lightweight, breathable
Cons: uncomfortable, terribly undersized
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Running Shoe

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Akron, IN
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Once we finally received the right size, loved the shoe. I ordered a size 11, but when I received the first shoe by UPS it was a size 10 in a size 11 box... I called Eastbay and explained and they sent recall tag and shipped out a new pair, but when the new pair arrived it was once again a size 10 in a size 11 box....So on the third try we finally received the correct size and it has been a great shoe for cross country season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Shoes look great and are comfortable

PostedJune 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from CAIRNS, AUS
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased these shoes for my 12 year old son. Shoes are very narrow so I went up a size and they fit great. Happy with this product for the moment even though my younger son (10) has these shoes as well which we purchased here in AUS and the glue has let go on the tip near the sole and all the logo, printing etc is pealing off after 2 months of owning them. Will wait and see if the same thing happens to these ones.
Pros: lightweight, breathable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A fantastic, light shoe!

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chillicothe, MO
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
This is really the first pair of running shoes I've ordered. I enjoy the light weight of the shoe, and the fact that I can run without socks. I know that's not how some like to run, but the shoe has awesome arch support and supreme breathability. I would definitely recommend this shoe!
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
Cons: runs narrow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good trainer

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am a sprinter that needed an indoor flat to train in with no spikes due to the facility i train at not allowing it. This is a good trainer shoe, the laces are a bit slick and come untied easy but overall comfortable and work-able. Runs small, my regular foot is a 9.5 and these 10s need to break in before i forget they are snug.
Pros: lightweight, breathable
Cons: run small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fatally narrow...

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from BC Canada
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The length of Zoom Waffle XC flats probably correct, but they are so tight at the front. I have a pair of normal feet, and I even bought these with 0.5 size larger. The wrapping arches are too high and irritating even I keep the laces loose.
This pair of shoes are best bought in a shoe store so you can really try them out.
Pros: lightweight
Cons: uncomfortable, tight +++, wrap arch too high
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Entry Level Cross Country Shoe Race Shoe

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Florence, SC
I purchased this product for:other family/friend
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This shoe was purchased for several of my CC runners. Sizes ranged between 7 and 11. This shoe does run about a half size small so order accordingly.
Great for Cross Country races across mixed terrain especially if there is road and asphalt on the course, and you dont want to tear up a pair of spikes!
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good cross-country shoes

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
I purchased this product for:other family/friend
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I bought these for m step-son, who just started with cross country at his high school. He was borrowing similar shoes from his school, but they were smaller. I ordered these in his proper size and he likes them. They were very light weight, so I'm sure it would be beneficial to cross country.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Zoom Waffle Racer 8 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for my kids

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Australia
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Thanks Eastbay great shoes great service. My kids love these shoes and use them for little aths in Australia. Comfort, support and heaps of grip. Being that they are both not yet in under 12's means they can't wear spikes yet and these shoes are the next best thing I have found.
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable, loads of grip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>