Customer Reviews for Mizuno Wave Universe 4 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

Mizuno Wave Universe 4 - Men's

Since lighter weight equals faster times, then the Mizuno Wave Universe 4 road racing flat might be considered an unfair advantage. AIR Mesh™ upper that provides breathability for the life of the shoe and helps the foot stay cool. Padded collar with fabric lining adds comfort. Printed overlays are located at both the medial and lateral sides to help hold the foot in place. AP midsole delivers lightweight, responsive, yet durable cushioning. Mizuno Wave® technology disperses impact forces uniformly over the length and width of the midsole, providing unrivaled cushioning. It resists overpronation and relieves stress on the ankle and knee joints while minimizing excessive midsole collapse as the foot lands and rolls medially providing superior motion control. SmoothRide™ engineering offers maximum comfort, ultimate feel and unsurpassed performance. G3 rubber outsole provides superior grip with less and added durability in key contact points. Non-removable insole. Wt. 3.8 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mizuno Wave Universe 4 - Men's
Review 1 for Mizuno Wave Universe 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light and Comfortabl. My Goldilock training flats.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
CFan
from Rockville, MD
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I compete in master and senior level sprint events. My Merrell Barefoot type of flats are very comfortable (I love them) but too soft for sprints. My Asics indoor track flats are stiff and aggressive enough for sprinting but uncomfortable for training. Just got this Mizuno Wave Universe. I call it my Goldilocks training flats because it is just right -- very light and comfortable but the sole is stiff enough for sprinting,
Without socks, the top, under the laces, irritates my feet a bit a first but I got used to it. Very nice. Lightest shoes that I've had.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mizuno Wave Universe 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very light

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
1stPresident
from Memphis, TN
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Fits well & very light. My son likes the feel.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mizuno Wave Universe 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT RACE FLAT

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
AUSSIETRI
from MELBOURNE AUSTRALIA
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
USED IN JUNIOR ELITE SPRINT DISTANCE TRIATHLON - EASY TO GET ON (ELASTIC LACES) - HIGH RECOMMEND EASTBAY - RECEIVED WITHIN 4 DAYS OF ORDER!
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mizuno Wave Universe 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As close to barefoot running as you need to be.

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
CochiseKg
from Boston, MA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Sleek and fast...you will NOT be at a disadvantage should you forget your spikes. Slip a pair of these bad boys on...nuff said!
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mizuno Wave Universe 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exactly what I expected

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
wonderman
from atl, ga
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
This shoe preforms as promised, sizing is accurate, great lightweight upper.
Pros: lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mizuno Wave Universe 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best light weight shoe you will ever have!!

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elias
from Sweden
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i love this shoe, i even run more in this shoe at practice than my spikes just because they are better and more kind to your muscles and prevents you from getting hurt. But because of the sole has so much traction you can run almost as fast with this shoe as a pair of sprint spikes.
the only bad about this shoe is that you can't use this shoe on anything else then on track and on perfect tarmac or you will ruin your shoes completely.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
Cons: non-durable
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mizuno Wave Universe 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic shoe: racer and trainer

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
gher69
from new Zealand
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These are my second pair of universe' and I LOVE them!! I even use them for long runs an they are fantastic. They are surprisingly durable I feel hypnotized (in a good way) every time I run in them. They are insanely light and a complete comfort ride.
Don't get anything else. This is THE shoe. Definitely a fluke by Mizuno though!!
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable
Cons: a little too much room in the heel
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mizuno Wave Universe 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Is not men's sizing

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
DWWruns
from Ct
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Ordered 5.5 because said is men's sizing. Had to return for me size. Ladies 7.
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mizuno Wave Universe 4 - Men's
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
7 out of 8 recommend this product