Customer Reviews for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's

Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's

Become your personal best in the Eastbay Compression Track Short. These track shorts use EVAPOR™ permanent moisture-management fabric to wick unwanted sweat away from your body to be easily evaporated, leaving you cool, dry and fast! The compression fit clings to the body reducing resistance and muscle fatigue while increasing speed and performance. Stretch-mesh ventilated panels provide additional breathability to aid you in any event. Get in the medals with the Eastbay Compression Track Short. 230 gram 80% polyester/20% spandex. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.057 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
2
29 out of 35(83%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Review 1 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Flawed seams, great shorts

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Toledo, OH
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I was really excited to get these shorts in the mail. I got two pairs. The first pair I promptly tried on to ensure proper sizing. Immediately upon pulling lightly on the shorts to adjust how they were sitting on my thigh there was a light pop. One of the reinforced side seams broke in one place, not a functional issue with the shorts, and it has/will hold fine. However at some point I also popped a single seam in the crotch, maybe at the same time - all I know it was before I had used them.
This other seam break allowed me to still wear the shorts once. However I realized the seam was not reinforced, and unless I wanted to risk a rather unfortunate wardrobe malfunction as a possibility, I had to repair the seam on my own at home.
Neither seam had a critical rip, however a single sting breaking in the crotch is able to lead to the whole thing unraveling. I have had absolutely no issues since, but I am watching carefully as I see some stretching going on. I am holding out hope that nothing else will fail. I honestly think the biggest issue is fresh out the factory and they need a light stretching or something to make sure nothing breaks. My other pair has had no strings break but there is minor stretching in the crotch visible in the stitching.
I really hope these hold out to be great because frankly I love them!
The vents on the sides are slightly (tiny bit) sheer, but the shorts keep me cool in the gym and on the track. They move really well with me. I use my shorts for weightlifting, strongman training and on the track. All I have to say is they're extremely comfortable and are great for moving unrestricted and not having to fuss with shorts when sprinting, squatting, or doing cleans/snatches.
Overall I'm very happy with this at present! If these prove their durability I will almost certainly pick up another couple pairs to train in.
For fitting I wore a large with ~33 inch waist, but large hips/butt/thighs from playing hockey most of my life. They go up to about my belly button, but I generally fold them down once.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
Cons: non-durable
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

NOT FOR WEIGHTLIFTING

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
First of all I read the reviews before buying this product and noticed a lot of people were ripping their shorts while trying them on for the very first time! I took note of this and told myself I'd be careful... but I ended up popping some stitches just trying to get my foot through the leg hole.
Let me just say that these shorts are THIN material and not designed to hold up to weightlifting or rough use in general. Just two training sessions and the barbell had torn the fabric on the thigh area and the groin had two small holes out of nowhere, where my underwear was visible. Two workouts, I kid you not.
Anyways, what's good about these shorts is that they look GREAT and the compression is WONDERFUL. I can see how if you are very careful with them and save them for use on the track and in your spinning class they are a great product... In the product's defense it is advertised as "track" pants. But I don't think "durable" should be tagged.
I wish the material was made to withstand something more than a weekly aerobics class.
Pros: stylish, runs true to size, comfortable
Cons: non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Professional Compression Pants

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
These are a thick type of material that compresses the leg muscles and increases performance; they are 80 percent polyester, and 20 percent spandex with a draw string inside the nice one inch scratchable waist line. I am 5 feet and 11 inches tall, and my weight is at 200 pounds and I find that the 2XL to be perfect, and even if I dropped to about 180 pounds the 2XL still would be comfortable. I run in 5 inch Eastbay men’s running shorts and I wish Eastbay would make 4 to 5 inch Compression pants for men because these pants are just too long, and I end up cutting them to an appropriate length for a professional men’s running appearance instead of the length down to the knees which to me looks unprofessional for a men’s running shorts appearance. I love the color difference because the colors match the many color 5 inch Eastbay men’s running shorts that I own, and again I stress the Professional Appearance of the compression pants with the same color as the running shorts.
Pros: stylish, durable, comfortable
Cons: too long, 4 or 5 inch inseam would be nice
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good - and not so good

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Louisville, KY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Allow me to provide an actual USEFUL review of the Evapor Track Compression Shorts. PLEASE everyone - include your gender, HEIGHT and WEIGHT in your reviews so we all have something to gauge Eastbay's products against!! Thanks.
I'd recommend these for TALLER athletes. Use the size chart for your waist size.
PLUSES: They are made very well made! Good material, stitching, dyes, design, etc. White side panels are a little sheer. But not an issue unless you have real hangups about your body. If you do, then you probably wouldn't wear these anyway.
MINUSES: I'm an adult male, 5' 7" 155 muscular pounds.
The size chart on waist is pretty close. I have a 33" waist and the Large is almost right, maybe just a bit too large for good compression. But the length is where they really failed for me - they come down to just below the top of my knees. And the waistline is way high on my torso. Too high. They ARE NOT for shorter folks. Wish they were because they are very nice with those exceptions.
# # #
Pros: high performance, lightweight, durable
Cons: runs large
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very very happy

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
will buy two or three more at a later date if on sale
Pros: stylish, runs true to size, durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Toronto
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
very small 
6 / 5
6 / 5
Looks good but i was disappointed with the cut. The waist is a lot higher than I expected. Not sure if I will actually wear these, which is too bad because the pics looked like they'd be really nice shorts.
Pros: stylish
Cons: high waist, thin
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

white stripe is semi-transparent

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Gainesville, FL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
Consider these to be inexpensive tights, nothing more.
These have a seam down the centerline. Most high-end compression shorts put the seams off to either side of the dangly bits to help reduce chafing and add support.
I was hoping to wear seamless compression underwear underneath these but then I discovered that the white stripe is actually somewhat transparent. It is possible to see through the white section quite clearly that I was wearing something underneath.
Cons: uncomfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, good looking pair of compression shorts

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Carrollton, GA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
Only drawback is waist is too high. Have to roll/fold it down.
Pros: stylish, runs true to size
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Track Shorts

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Wichita Falls, TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
I had read a review where it said that the waist was too high. When I bought a pair and tried them on, I agree. But then I'm only 5'6' and I rolled the waist band down once and ... perfect. My shirts are usually untucked so I don't see this part anyway and it was still a good fit and comfortable.
Pros: stylish, durable, comfortable
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fair product for a fair price.

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
I would endorse this product to any athlete interested in looking good with a solid pair of spandex/speedshorts.
The rise of the shorts is a bit strange as in a large (5'11') they reach just below my belly button, however, it is easy to get used to and makes the use of the internal drawstring nearly redundant.
The mesh panels (shown in white) offer great breathability however be wary of the stitching. A teammate and I while putting them on for the first time both popped a couple of seams yanking them on too fast.
Definitely be careful taking them on and off, however mid-race, even hurdling, I had no qualms about how the shorts held up.
If you're not a fan of super tight spandex (like me, and I have super skinny legs), order a size up and they'll still fit like a glove.
Pros: stylish, runs true to size, breathable, stays tight to body even over hurdles
Cons: careful with seams, very high rise (nearly to belly button)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Western Pennsylvania
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
I love these shorts! They look cool, are a good length, and comfortable. I wear these when I run 5k's and they're awesome. I'm 5'8" 165 lbs and I got a medium and they fit well. Definitely would recommend these!
Pros: stylish, runs true to size, durable, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great styling - perfect for the gym

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
EVAPOR tight shorts have great styling and fit perfectly. I've worn the shorts several times now and they are perfect for the gym and running. They feel great during a hard workout. Some people posting have complained about seams popping when they put them on, which is a problem with even the best made lycra stretch active wear. Don't pull-on using the shorts waist band, because the treads are lycra too and will pop (again, true about most lycra compression shorts). It is better to first pull partly on and then pull up from the bottom of the shorts legs, if you have large thighs. Most lycra active wear should be hand washed too. I will definitely buy the shorts again.
Pros: stylish, runs true to size, durable, comfortable
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

VERY SHARP!!

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Southern Illinois
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
These shorts look great!! At first the purple looks like it has faded onto the white, but once my son put them on you dont notice it. I havent washed them yet, so hopefully the purple doesnt fade onto the white then. They run a little small, my son normally wears a Med but in these he needed a large.
Pros: stylish, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great look, fit, and feel

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sugar Land, TX
I purchased this product for:other family/friend
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
Team looked so sharp at recent State JROTC PT Meet, other Instructors were taking pictures.
Pros: stylish, runs true to size, durable, comfortable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

small, not like 2xl

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from vestal ny
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
fit like a large not 2xl. can not get them on comfortably
Cons: runs small, uncomfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just poorly made.

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Canada
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Nought two pairs and got to wear both only two times before the stitching along the seam in the crotch came undone...
The very frst time I put them on I could hear the stitches coming apart. It's too bad, because they are very comfortable and look great!
I just cannot give more than a one-star rating for a pair of shorts that are good for only two outings.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, good moisture wicking, breathable
Cons: poor performance, non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall good product

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This is exactly what I was looking for. They are comfortable, sytlish, and cheap. However I would recommend getting these a size up because I'm skinny and have a size 32 waist, yet I ordered a Large and they fit perfectly.
Pros: stylish, durable, comfortable
Cons: runs small
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Quality!!!!

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hattiesburg, MS
I switched to running in compression shorts about two years ago for obvious benefits of increased blood flow during my runs and faster recovery. I've paid much more for big name brand compression shorts that are not even close to these in quality, fit and comfort. I bought 4 different pairs in 4 different colors and I think I will collect them all. You can't go wrong with these shorts!
Pros: high performance, lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product with awesome price

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Manila Philippines
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
One size bigger... I should have ordered one size smaller base on the measurement. Overall, it's a great short and it serve me right. Bought two actually.
Pros: high performance, lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Eastbay EVAPOR Tight Shorts - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit. Very comfortable.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
Terrific value. Eastbay, restock the sizes in the popular colors!
Pros: runs true to size, stylish, comfortable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>