Customer Reviews for Saucony Showdown - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Eastbay.

Saucony Showdown - Men's

The Saucony Showdown is a lightweight, high end sprint spike with an aggressive Pebax® ten-spike plate that offers ultimate traction. Flexion plate technology provide quicker toe off. Traditional lace inner bootie combined with synthetic zip overlays locks the foot onto the platform to add optimal speed capabilities. Comes with 1/4" compression spikes and a wrench. Wt. 6.7 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 30(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Review 1 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

May be the best looking sprint spike ever

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
TrackDad1
from DFW, TX
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
2 / 5
2 / 5
If you are a fan of the sprint spikes developed by Adidas (Demolisher and Power Sprint 2) and like the plate spike pattern of the Asics Phantom 3, you will like these. They take the mid plate ridges of the Demolisher, put it on a full length plate like the Power Sprint 2 and combine that with a similar spike pattern as Asics' Phantom 3. This makes it firm for the straights like the dragster Adidas Demolisher with the handling and curve performance of Asics's Phantom 3, while staying as light as the Adidas Power Sprint 2. I can see why Wallace Spearman had such a good response on the curves in the 200 eventhough his strengths are in the straights. Too bad Saucony couldn't have had better quality control over their sizing. You absolutely must try these on before purchasing. Despite that, Saucony has a hit on their hands.
Pros: lightweight, high performance
Cons: fits small
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Spikes Ever!!!

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Naruto
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I LOVE these spikes so much. If your looking for a pair of spikes for sprinting I highly recommend these. These are extremely beautiful looking and are very practical all at the same time. When I had my old pair one thing that bothered me was the fact that the shoe laces were often loose and were swinging back and forth but I love the zipper in these shoes since they keep my shoe laces in place. These spikes also look amazing and shiny. The bottom helps you keep running in perfect form. I am very happy to get these spikes
When I run in these I feel like I'm Superman or Flash.
Pros
-Shiny and Looks Amazing
-Zipper
-10 Spike Plate
-Will cut your time drastically.
-Price
Cons
-They run a little small so order about a size larger than what you normally wear.
Pros: high performance, lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable, price, looks
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NICE....

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
oneTRACKmind
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this option and the white electro option and I thought they both fit great. I usually where a size 13 in my trainers so I bought a size 13 in these spikes and liked the way they felt. I tried them with and without socks because sometimes I like racing barefoot. I actually still had a little room at the end of my toes, which was good. The upper is nice and snug to my foot which is good especially for some 200m that I do.
So you may want to adjust your size depending on whether you usually wear socks or not, but I found them to be pretty true to size.
Pros: high performance
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shoe hands down

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
DHerbert
from Ohio
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am a hurdler and I really was trying to get an ultralight shoe and I noticed that it started lacking support and I wa losing some of my energy. This spike is FASTER than lighter spikes. The aggressive spike plate was just that, aggressive. The first time I exploded of the blocks I hit the hurdle so fast it went airborne. Expecting good things to come.
Pros: high performance, durable, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These will cut your times down

PostedMay 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
SpeedyHurdler
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use these for the 110m high hurdles in high school, and they are just incredible!!! they look amazing and always get complements. The spike plate shoots your forward, but it gives you really nice balance which is important for technical races like the hurdles. If you have good form, these will cut your times a good amount, i dropped more than a half a second and I thought I had peaked! my only complaint is that they are a little narrow, so if you have wide feet, your gonna have be really uncomfortable, but getting a larger size should take care of that. I love these Spikes!!! Saucony is a great company!
*My previous spike was a max cat 2, Its was good and really lightwieght, but doesn't have any balance at all, great for longer sprints though.
Pros: high performance, lightweight, comfortable, balance, traction
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Shoe.

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
TrackJunkie
from Windsor, ON
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I compete at the high school level and these shoes are perfect. I run 400 m mainly and the spikes had enough support to keep me comfortable during the race. The spike plate on the bottom is totally rigid, and keeps you on your toes. The zipper is a nice thing to have to .. no worries about untied laces and plus it makes it look sleeker. The shoe runs a little narrow, so make sure you order .5 size up from what you usually wear. If you like track and like sprinting, I suggest these shoes, they are amazing.
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Good for Serious Sprinters

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
TMX6
from South Gate, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shoes are very pleasing for anyone who wishes to get an extra boost as a sprinter. Notice I said sprinter because these shoes are definitely not comfortable at all and worse for a distance runner. Despite this, I personally enjoy having the 10 spikes in the front for better positioning.
In summary, these shoes are worth every dollar for the performance they deliver... The color and design is the icing on the top.
Pros: high performance, lightweight, inexpensive
Cons: uncomfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Spikes

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
osereme321
from Leesburg, VA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These spikes are the best that I have used so far. Recommend ordering your regular size. The zipper is very useful for incorporating a lock-down feel. Almost feels like a sock. Traction is amazing. I have noticed my start out of the blocks has greatly increased in speed. Not recommended for beginners, as the plate is very rigid, and will not be as helpful to people new to track and field.
Pros: high performance, lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for everybody! Including college boys

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
TransformerMexicano
from Mexico
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have 15 years and I'm a 100 and 200 meters runner. Soon I will run the nationals with these spikes, hoping a 11 flat in 100 meters and a 22 low in 200 meters. I think they are awesome, they're lightweight and high performance, although I feel them a little tight in the width, I hope that it will open a little bit so it could be more comfortable. I totally recommend this.
Pros: lightweight, high performance, good friction
Cons: a little tight of the width
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Spikes

PostedJune 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
SuperSaiyanSpikes
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
These spikes are incredible...believe it or not its your choice, i started off the season running a 58 sec 400m... icoudn't get it any lower... i got them and my first race in these GODLIKE spikes a ran a 55 sec and my second race in these spikes i ran a 52.3 these spikes will cut off your times for all sprinting events without a doubt
Pros: high performance, lightweight, durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

past my expectations

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
MWA44
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
when i ordered them i tough they would feel like the rest of the spikes out there but when i tried them on they blew my away, they were extremely comfortable and provided excellent arch support. the traction on these is also pretty amazing i would recommend these to any sprinter, the only down side is they not very breathable
Pros: high performance, lightweight, durable, comfortable
Cons: not breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
HighSchoolSprinter
I am a sprinter that participates in everything from the 100 to the 400. These spikes are great. When going around curves they provide great support and also do very well when its time to take off on the straights. I absolutely recommend this product to sprinters.
Pros: high performance, durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Second season buying these shoes.

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
DocDaddy
from Batesville, AR
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I bought these shoes last year for my son to use during track season. He competes in hurdles and pole vault. The shoes worked extremely well for both events. My son has now outgrown his shoes from last season, so we bought another pair for this year.
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These Spikes rule!!!

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
JP51379
from Hedgesvile, West Virginia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These shoes are bright and will be noticed from a distance. Red's my favorite color, but i didn't expect the spikes to be such an awesome red. The shoes are light weight, comfortable, and feel great. I haven't ran with them yet, but am excited to.
Pros: high performance, lightweight, comfortable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

high proformance

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
topendspeed
from New York
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
im am a sprinter who has some what of a low arch and the showdowns provide the stable arch that is needed when runing tight curves in races. this spike is also great for attacking the track with the ten spike pattern.
Pros: comfortable
Cons: a little small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is the second pair purchsased

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teacup
from Capitol Heights MD
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
My son loved his shoes so much that he shared the information with one of his team mates so I purchased another pair for him. The price was a factor as well. Thanks for your products.
Pros: comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exactly as specified

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
gtdread
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
The spike fit perfectly and had no surprises. I'd have preferred to get regular 1/4 inch spikes instead of the "Christmas tree" spikes that were included, but that's a minor quibble.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very nice shoe

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
waterboy100
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
The shoe fits my foot very well. It's super comfortable and is very lightweight, would recommend to anyone, better than the last Nike spikes I had. Like the zipper to cover laces
Pros: high performance, lightweight, comfortable
Cons: christmas tree spikes included
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great track spike!

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
WhiteLightning
from CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I went from the Asics Japan Lite-ning 2/3 to this and I love how it has more durability and support. They give great support and they're even shinier when they come in! :)
Pros: high performance, durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Saucony Showdown - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Satisfied

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
AsphaltRunner
from Annapolis, MD
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
The product was what was expected based on information and comparisons. Package was delivered in horrible condition, luckily shoes were not damaged.
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>